Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
That is all good assuming you accept that true team control exists on the throw in and not some limited version of team control. The rule certainly doesn't clarify that but the published intent of the rule does effectively establish two types of team control.
|
Yep, and for those of us who read the published intent, it's pretty simple. For those who simply read the rules, though, there is no such distinction. Not only does the rule not clarify that, it's actually pretty clearly written in a way that means the opposite of what they intended.
If they're going to rule by case play, they should simply note in the ruling of the case play what you're saying here: TC during a throw-in is only intended to affect foul situations, and all violation calls should consider TC inactive until PC is established inbounds.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
And, there are going to be some who take the wording and try to apply it to "a1 from the BC throws the ball that hits the referee in the FC and rebounds to be BC where A2 recovers."
They are going to claim "no TC in the FC" (which is, of course, false, but it's the same concept as on the case)
|
Exactly, and the rules give us no means by which we can distinguish between the two situations.