View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2014, 11:02pm
OKREF OKREF is offline
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
2014-15 points of emphasis.

4. Team Control Status During Throw In: Since a 2011-12 rules change, team control exists during a throw-in when the thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change was made ONLY, to eliminate the penalty of administering free throw(s) when a teammate of the throw-in commits a common foul during the throw-in. The change made the penalty consistent with the penalty for other team control fouls. The penalty now is the awarding of a throw-in to the opposing team at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the foul occurred.

NOTE: Team control during a throw-in is not intended to be equated to player control status inbounds which creates team control status inbounds. During the throw-in, 10 seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc... are not factors as there has yet to be player control/team control status obtained inbounds. Page 70 Rulebook.

There shouldn't be any debate anymore. This makes it pretty clear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Yep, and for those of us who read the published intent, it's pretty simple. For those who simply read the rules, though, there is no such distinction. Not only does the rule not clarify that, it's actually pretty clearly written in a way that means the opposite of what they intended.

If they're going to rule by case play, they should simply note in the ruling of the case play what you're saying here: TC during a throw-in is only intended to affect foul situations, and all violation calls should consider TC inactive until PC is established inbounds.



Exactly, and the rules give us no means by which we can distinguish between the two situations.
Yes it does. Page 70 rule book.

Last edited by OKREF; Sat Oct 11, 2014 at 11:04pm.
Reply With Quote