![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I have a 2011 NFHS rule book handy here at work. 4-36-1 says "inadvertent."
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Still with that being said I still think that you go to the AP as all the rule did was change to what we classify a foul, not what happens in the situation with the ball. And since this is not a foul situation, the team is really not in Team Control as they would not be as it relates to a back court situation either. I also cannot find a specific casebook play at this time to dispute either action. Again my rational is the ball is loose at the time of the whistle off the throw-in. It might not be fair, but that is what the rules states for this remedy at this time. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Intent and purpose of the rule. For this purpose, the team in control is the team which last had the ball, even if it is loose at the whistle. If you give a loose ball back to a team which last made any pass, I would also give it back to that team if the pass happened to be a throw-in pass.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In this situation, there has not been an event which ends A's TC which started on the throw-in before the inadvertent whistle occurred. |
|
|||
|
Team A is dribbling the ball and it is knocked loose resulting in an interrupted dribble. During the interrupted dribble there is an inadvertant whistle. Team A would be awarded a throw-in due to them having team control correct? If this is correct when would we go to the arrow, only when the ball is in flight on a try?
I have read 4-36 but need help getting my mind around it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the try is good, then the POI is a throw in along the endline for B. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The debate here is whether there is true TC on a throw-in or is a throw-in just a situation where a TC foul would be called but no other TC elements are applied. What further complicates the matter is that a throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched (B1 tips throw-in) but we are told to call a TC foul up until someone secures player control. The NFHS has made a mess of this rule. They should have just adopted the NCAA rule for Team Control and modified the 10-second, backcourt, 3-second rules to state PC must first be established.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
After thinking about this, team control on a throw in only applies to fouls, so if the whistle was blown while the ball was in the air, after B1 touches, and after hitting the backboard I would go with AP, if blown while in A1 possession then go with A's ball.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Is this correct?
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Inadvertent whistle | oldschool | Basketball | 3 | Tue Mar 01, 2011 05:08pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Boni | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 07:42pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Suudy | Football | 2 | Tue Oct 25, 2005 01:45am |
| My first inadvertent whistle | OverAndBack | Football | 22 | Tue Oct 19, 2004 09:34pm |
| Inadvertent Whistle | Rev.Ref63 | Basketball | 29 | Sat Mar 09, 2002 01:43pm |