The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inadvertent whistle (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93126-inadvertent-whistle.html)

The R Wed Dec 05, 2012 01:58pm

Inadvertent whistle
 
A1 passes ball inbounds from base line. B1 tips ball and it careens into the underside of the backboard then into A2's possession.

T whistles and call an OOB violation. L informs T that the ball only hit the underside of the backboard not the back side.

At this point the T explains that he has an inadvertent whistle and awards the ball back to A1 for a base line throw in.

Correct?
Thoughts?

OKREF Wed Dec 05, 2012 02:09pm

That's what I would do.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 05, 2012 02:09pm

On an IW the ball goes back to the team in control, so ......

JRutledge Wed Dec 05, 2012 02:11pm

It is actually called an accidental whistle. Inadvertent whistle is a football term.

With that being said, they go to the AP if he blew the whistle for a violation and the ball was not in possession. Team A would get the ball if they had the arrow. But it does not sound like that might not have been the case here.

Peace

Adam Wed Dec 05, 2012 02:11pm

What other options are there?

maven Wed Dec 05, 2012 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 865124)
With that being said, they go to the AP if he blew the whistle for a violation and the ball was not in possession.

No team control during a throw-in for your games?

MD Longhorn Wed Dec 05, 2012 02:43pm

Why is this a question?

Adam Wed Dec 05, 2012 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 865140)
No team control during a throw-in for your games?

Does team control continue after B1 tips the ball?

JugglingReferee Wed Dec 05, 2012 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 865125)
What other options are there?

The only option I can see being considered is if the whistle went while possession in bounds hadn't yet been established, which may cause someone to go with the arrow.

Adam Wed Dec 05, 2012 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 865146)
The only option I can see being considered is if the whistle went while possession in bounds hadn't yet been established, which may cause someone to go with the arrow.

Right. Let's extend the play. After B1's tip, the ball bounces off the backboard and towards the division line when the officials blows the whistle.

Throw in is over. If TC is no longer in effect, you would go to the arrow.

Eastshire Wed Dec 05, 2012 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 865147)
Right. Let's extend the play. After B1's tip, the ball bounces off the backboard and towards the division line when the officials blows the whistle.

Throw in is over. If TC is no longer in effect, you would go to the arrow.

How is TC no longer in effect?

4-12-3 Team control continues until a) a try b) an opponent secures control or c) the ball becomes dead.

Since there was no try, A has team control as it's control has not ended since it was established by the throw-in.

Eastshire Wed Dec 05, 2012 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 865124)
It is actually called an accidental whistle. Inadvertent whistle is a football term.

With that being said, they go to the AP if he blew the whistle for a violation and the ball was not in possession. Team A would get the ball if they had the arrow. But it does not sound like that might not have been the case here.

Peace

Check 4-36-1.

JRutledge Wed Dec 05, 2012 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 865159)
Check 4-36-1.

Are you sure that is the rule you want to go with?

It is better to look at 4-36-2a and even that is not what took place.

4-12-3c says team control continues until the ball becomes dead. Well the whistle makes the play dead and no one is in control of the ball.

Peace

Eastshire Wed Dec 05, 2012 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 865164)
Are you sure that is the rule you want to go with?

It is better to look at 4-36-2a and even that is not what took place.

4-12-3c says team control continues until the ball becomes dead. Well the whistle makes the play dead and no one is in control of the ball.

Peace

Sorry, I was referring to "inadvertent whistle" being used as a term with that reference.

Bad Zebra Wed Dec 05, 2012 03:49pm

Ohh! Ohh! Ohh! I know this one!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 865124)
It is actually called an accidental whistle. Inadvertent whistle is a football term...

4-36-1
Point of interruption: Method of resuming play due to officials INADVERTENT WHISTLE...

(This ruling brought to you courtesy of the 2012-13 NFHS iphone app)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1