The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 03:57pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
4-36-1
Point of interruption: Method of resuming play due to officials INADVERTENT WHISTLE...

(This ruling brought to you courtesy of the 2012-13 NFHS iphone app)
You do realize that POI can be an AP application right?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
It is actually called an accidental whistle. Inadvertent whistle is a football term.

With that being said, they go to the AP if he blew the whistle for a violation and the ball was not in possession. Team A would get the ball if they had the arrow. But it does not sound like that might not have been the case here.

Peace
The ball was still in TC, even if it wasn't in PC (or "posession.")

Use POI for an IW. Since there was TC, it goes back to A for a throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 04:35pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
You do realize that POI can be an AP application right?

Peace
Yes. I was just confirming that the term Inadvertent Whistle was in fact a basketball term (since I have been using for many years)
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The ball was still in TC, even if it wasn't in PC (or "posession.")

Use POI for an IW. Since there was TC, it goes back to A for a throw-in.
I concur. The only caveat with respect to the question asked by the OP is that the throw-in for team A will be at the OOB spot nearest to where the ball was located when the whistle sounded. This may not result in a throw-in on the endline. In this instance, where the original throw-in came from is not a factor in deciding from where to award the new throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 04:42pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The ball was still in TC, even if it wasn't in PC (or "posession.")

Use POI for an IW. Since there was TC, it goes back to A for a throw-in.
Ha! Alphabet soup!
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 04:53pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Does team control continue after B1 tips the ball?
Yes.

And, even if it didn't, in the OP team A seems to be in player control of the ball when the IW is blown, and thus has team control.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.

Last edited by maven; Wed Dec 05, 2012 at 04:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 05:23pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
It is actually called an accidental whistle. Inadvertent whistle is a football term.
I have a 2011 NFHS rule book handy here at work. 4-36-1 says "inadvertent."
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 05:26pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
A few years back it changed to "inadvertent", but at one time it was "accidental". Not sure what year it changed, but it has changed. If you try to search accidental on the NFHS App, nothing shows up.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 07:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The ball was still in TC, even if it wasn't in PC (or "posession.")

Use POI for an IW. Since there was TC, it goes back to A for a throw-in.
(EDIT: My comment below is only in reference to the point about their being team control or not, not what you do with the IW)


Is that really true now since they basically said all other rules are as they were as before on that issue where the only thing that changes is that you can have a team control foul during a throwin....which is not necessarily the same as having team control. (You can have a PC foul without PC in the case of an airborne shooter).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Dec 05, 2012 at 08:03pm.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 07:29pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Is that really true now since they basically said all other rules are they were as before on that the only thing that changes is that you can have a team control foul during a throwin....which is not necessarily the same as having team control. (You can have a PC foul without PC in the case of an airborne shooter).
After B1 tips the ball and while it is rolling loose, A2 pushes B2. Do we have a Team Control foul?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Dec 05, 2012 at 09:03pm.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Is that really true now since they basically said all other rules are they were as before on that the only thing that changes is that you can have a team control foul during a throwin....which is not necessarily the same as having team control. (You can have a PC foul without PC in the case of an airborne shooter).
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
After B1 tips the ball and whiling it is rolling loose, A2 pushes B2. Do we have a Team Control foul?
Of course, but that is due to the NFHS modifying the definition of a team control foul this season as opposed to the definition of team control last season.

Camron is referring to this passage from the changes of this season:


A team-control foul is a common foul committed by a team that has team control (including a member of the throw-in team from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds).

Rationale: The committee adopted a team-control rule change for last season which introduced some complications for a number of other rules. These complications were handled through interpretations last year. The addition of this parenthetical statement allows all rules affected by the team-control definition change last season to revert to their previous verbiage and brings the rule in line with the interpretations that were released last year.




Unfortunately, the NFHS did NOT change all of the affected rules back to their previous verbiage. Thus we have a situation in which we obtain different rulings by following the above guidance or what the text in the current rules book actually says.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 09:05pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Of course, but that is due to the NFHS modifying the definition of a team control foul this season as opposed to the definition of team control last season.
...
Which is why I would give the ball back to the throw-in team if we have an IW instead of a foul in this situation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Unfortunately, the NFHS did NOT change all of the affected rules back to their previous verbiage. Thus we have a situation in which we obtain different rulings by following the above guidance or what the text in the current rules book actually says.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Which is why I would give the ball back to the throw-in team if we have an IW instead of a foul in this situation.
Would you do that under the rules which were in place for the 2010-11 season? The definitions of player and team control were different.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2012, 09:54pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Would you do that under the rules which were in place for the 2010-11 season? The definitions of player and team control were different.
I don't think retroactively
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 12:33am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I have a 2011 NFHS rule book handy here at work. 4-36-1 says "inadvertent."
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
A few years back it changed to "inadvertent", but at one time it was "accidental". Not sure what year it changed, but it has changed. If you try to search accidental on the NFHS App, nothing shows up.
After doing some research this is absolutely true. They did used to only use accidental whistle previously and it appears they have corrected this in almost every example or interpretation in the rulebook and casebook.

Still with that being said I still think that you go to the AP as all the rule did was change to what we classify a foul, not what happens in the situation with the ball. And since this is not a foul situation, the team is really not in Team Control as they would not be as it relates to a back court situation either. I also cannot find a specific casebook play at this time to dispute either action. Again my rational is the ball is loose at the time of the whistle off the throw-in. It might not be fair, but that is what the rules states for this remedy at this time.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inadvertent whistle oldschool Basketball 3 Tue Mar 01, 2011 05:08pm
Inadvertent Whistle Boni Basketball 7 Mon Dec 15, 2008 07:42pm
Inadvertent Whistle Suudy Football 2 Tue Oct 25, 2005 01:45am
My first inadvertent whistle OverAndBack Football 22 Tue Oct 19, 2004 09:34pm
Inadvertent Whistle Rev.Ref63 Basketball 29 Sat Mar 09, 2002 01:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1