The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 12:11pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Here is another element (sorry if someone said this already), we are not going to start a 10 second back court count if either B or A touches the ball in this situation, so that is why I do not know why we automatically give the ball back to Team A if an inadvertent whistle took place and the ball was essentially loose.

Peace


This just made the light bulb come on in my head.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Is this correct?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
The team control only applies to fouls on the offense on the throw in. When it was tipped the throw in was over and there was no team control, therefore unless the whistle happened when team A had the ball, it would be an AP.
That is not what the rule says. It may be the intention of the committee, but it's not the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 01:19pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
That is not what the rule says. It may be the intention of the committee, but it's not the rule.
They only changed the rule for foul purposes. So we have a clear loophole or something the NF never thought about.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
They only changed the rule for foul purposes. So we have a clear loophole or something the NF never thought about.

Peace
They only meant to change the rule for foul purposes. Because of some bad editing, they changed the rule for several other things as well.
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 01:38pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
They only meant to change the rule for foul purposes. Because of some bad editing, they changed the rule for several other things as well.
Isn't that why I agreed with BNR that they should have adopted the NCAA rule?

And in the change they said they were to keep everything else the same but changed this rule for when to call a TC foul.

The NCAA changed the other rules to make it clear that nothing else would be the result other than a TC foul and all the other rules were changed to make exceptions for the situation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 02:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Shouldn't they also get it in the orginal example on the throw in even though Team B tipped it due to having team control on a throw in? Or does the tip end team control bc it ends the throw-in?
Dang, guess I typed all this for no reason:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
You would go to the AP arrow whenever there isn't team control or a try is missed.

The debate here is whether there is true TC on a throw-in or is a throw-in just a situation where a TC foul would be called but no other TC elements are applied.

What further complicates the matter is that a throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched (B1 tips throw-in) but we are told to call a TC foul up until someone secures player control.

The NFHS has made a mess of this rule. They should have just adopted the NCAA rule for Team Control and modified the 10-second, backcourt, 3-second rules to state PC must first be established.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
By rule, TC would continue. By intent as expressed by the NFHS, it seems to be up in the air.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
That is not what the rule says. It may be the intention of the committee, but it's not the rule.
2012-13 rules, yes. 2010-11 rules, no.
NFHS has stated to revert to previous language even though it didn't make these changes for the current book.
Very poor by the NFHS and tough situation for the officials.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
In a similar situation (4.19.8 F) the Team A throw-in is released and before the ball is legally touched a double foul occurs. As with an inadvertent whistle, play resumes from the POI. In this caseplay the ball is given back to Team A not on the basis of team control; but because the throw-in had not ended. Evidently the ruling is based on what we have been told that team control on a throw-in only applies to fouls by a member of the throw-in team. My guess is (although I don't like it) that if the IW occurred after the legal deflection we would go AP. But in the OP, the IW came after A2 had possesion so the POI would be Team A ball. Your thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 07:55pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
2012-13 rules, yes. 2010-11 rules, no.
NFHS has stated to revert to previous language even though it didn't make these changes for the current book.
Very poor by the NFHS and tough situation for the officials.
It is not that tough. Do what we say in football, "The official that has the inadvertent whistle buys the first round."

IW are usually so rare that it does not matter. And I do not think I have ever seen one on this situation. Heck the officials in the OP could have just gone with the violation and moved on and it would not have been an issue.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 09:10pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
All this brings to mind one of the worst calls we must make, by rule. A lead by 1 with seconds left in the game, A1 is trying to dribble out the clock in the backcourt, closely guarded by B1. A1 loses his footing, and the ball rolls free toward B's basket. But before B1 can reach the ball and score the winning layup, the whistle inexplicably sounds.

OOPS

By rule, not only is B denied the uncontested layup, but A gets the ball back.


I would like to see a change here.

In the event of an inadvertent whistle while the ball is loose, it shall be a judgment call by the official which team shall be awarded possession.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2012, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
2012-13 rules, yes. 2010-11 rules, no.
NFHS has stated to revert to previous language even though it didn't make these changes for the current book.
Very poor by the NFHS and tough situation for the officials.
What would the NCAA ruling be on the OP?
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2012, 09:32am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What would the NCAA ruling be on the OP?
In the NCAA there is true TC on a throw-in per 4-15-1.2c: When a player of that team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2012, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In the NCAA there is true TC on a throw-in per 4-15-1.2c: When a player of that team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in
FED 4-12-2d "when a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in."
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 07, 2012, 10:05am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
FED 4-12-2d "when a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in."
But the Fed said that is not the case, it was a mis-print.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inadvertent whistle oldschool Basketball 3 Tue Mar 01, 2011 05:08pm
Inadvertent Whistle Boni Basketball 7 Mon Dec 15, 2008 07:42pm
Inadvertent Whistle Suudy Football 2 Tue Oct 25, 2005 01:45am
My first inadvertent whistle OverAndBack Football 22 Tue Oct 19, 2004 09:34pm
Inadvertent Whistle Rev.Ref63 Basketball 29 Sat Mar 09, 2002 01:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1