View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 12:33am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I have a 2011 NFHS rule book handy here at work. 4-36-1 says "inadvertent."
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
A few years back it changed to "inadvertent", but at one time it was "accidental". Not sure what year it changed, but it has changed. If you try to search accidental on the NFHS App, nothing shows up.
After doing some research this is absolutely true. They did used to only use accidental whistle previously and it appears they have corrected this in almost every example or interpretation in the rulebook and casebook.

Still with that being said I still think that you go to the AP as all the rule did was change to what we classify a foul, not what happens in the situation with the ball. And since this is not a foul situation, the team is really not in Team Control as they would not be as it relates to a back court situation either. I also cannot find a specific casebook play at this time to dispute either action. Again my rational is the ball is loose at the time of the whistle off the throw-in. It might not be fair, but that is what the rules states for this remedy at this time.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote