![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
According to the definition of "At Disposal" it does not suggest a player is still in the disposal of the thrower.
Also the definition of fumble means an accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally drops or slips from the player's grasp. Now obviously there is no player control of a ball from a thrower by rule but that was the word used in the case play. I am just not sure there is any support that the ball is still at the disposal of the thrower (9.1.1 does not give that support either). All I am asking is for support by rule. I am not sure we can give a timeout when the player is responsible for losing the ball and going to violate and the ball is no longer by definition at their disposal. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The way I've always read the rules is that once one status is obtained (player control, team control, location, airborne player, legal guarding position), that status remains until, by rule, it changes. If no rule clear exists to end the previous status and/or begin a new status, then the status continues. If the ball rolls onto the court it's no longer at the disposal of the throw-in team as either the throw-in ends or a throw-in violation occurred if the ball didn't go directly onto the court. If the ball is fumbled and is rolling around outside the boundary, the throw-in hasn't ended. What, by rule, ends the status of "at the thrower's disposal?" This thread has me questioning when "disposal" really ends on a legal inbounds play. Is it, by rule, when the thrower releases the ball or when the throw-in ends once the ball is legally touched? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The throw-in has a start and an end. If it ends with a TO, foul, or violation, then another throw-in will (or might) start. Since you don't "resume" a throw-in, what sense is there in thinking of one as "suspended"?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
BTW, I did not read this play as everything took place outside of the boundary. It does not say either way, so I was thinking the fumble took place onto the court. I can see how this could easily change if it took place completely out of bounds too. I just want something concrete to have a player call a timeout when they are not holding the ball anymore after they have had the ball in their disposal. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'd suggest that the deletion of the word "inbounds" from the definition of PC was NOT meant to change the definition of fumble (and is another one of the unintended consequences of the way they tried to change the TC Foul rule) Quote:
Frankly, I think the strongest argument for "TO NOT allowed" is by extending the similar play that happens during a FT -- here, it's an immediate violation. (9.1.1A) |
|
|||
|
Thanks for all the input. In the case I read it as fumbled out of bounds, that is why it is a violation to go pick it up. They have stepped outside the 3' wide designated spot? If the ball was fumbled onto the court then A-1 could move outside this area.
And I as well wonder when does at the disposal end?
__________________
Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in my attempt. -- Special Olympics Athlete Oath |
|
|||
|
throw-in count?
So if the thrower-in fumbles the ball and it is no longer at his disposal then we would have to stop the throw-in count correct? I don't think so. If the throw-in count continues then the ball must still be at the player's disposal, so grant the time out. (assuming the fumbled ball is OOB and the player did not leave the designated spot)
Last edited by billyu2; Thu Nov 10, 2011 at 03:10pm. |
|
|||
|
The OP did not say that the ball entered the court. If it entered the court, it was just a poorly executed throw-in. If it did not, he still has 5 seconds, even if his arms are not long enough to throw it in legally by retrieving it without leaving the spot.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't think the ball is still at his disposal; I'm not sure it follows that he can't call a TO. IOW, I'm not convinced the issue turns on whether the ball is at the disposal of A.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| designated throw in spot? | fan | Basketball | 5 | Fri Nov 30, 2007 03:46pm |
| Designated Throw-In Spot 7-6-2 | PConley | Basketball | 2 | Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:26pm |
| Designated spot throw ins | Art N | Basketball | 14 | Tue Jan 16, 2001 08:29am |
| Designated Spot Throw-in | Fox40 | Basketball | 4 | Sun Oct 24, 1999 07:08pm |