Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
According to the definition of "At Disposal" it does not suggest a player is still in the disposal of the thrower.
Also the definition of fumble means an accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally drops or slips from the player's grasp.
Now obviously there is no player control of a ball from a thrower by rule but that was the word used in the case play.
I am just not sure there is any support that the ball is still at the disposal of the thrower (9.1.1 does not give that support either).
All I am asking is for support by rule. I am not sure we can give a timeout when the player is responsible for losing the ball and going to violate and the ball is no longer by definition at their disposal.
Peace
|
It seems to me this is backward logic. We shouldn't be asking where "by rule" does it state the ball is still at the disposal of the player. We should ask when, by rule, is it no longer at his disposal.
The way I've always read the rules is that once one status is obtained (player control, team control, location, airborne player, legal guarding position), that status remains until, by rule, it changes. If no rule clear exists to end the previous status and/or begin a new status, then the status continues.
If the ball rolls onto the court it's no longer at the disposal of the throw-in team as either the throw-in ends or a throw-in violation occurred if the ball didn't go directly onto the court.
If the ball is fumbled and is rolling around outside the boundary, the throw-in hasn't ended. What, by rule, ends the status of "at the thrower's disposal?"
This thread has me questioning when "disposal" really ends on a legal inbounds play. Is it, by rule, when the thrower releases the ball or when the throw-in ends once the ball is legally touched?