View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:06pm
Brick43 Brick43 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Milford, MA
Posts: 44
Designated spot Throw-in muffed??

According to Case 9.2.1 Situation B (A-1, out of bounds for a designated spot throw-inb) after receiving the ball from the official, fumbles the ball and leaves the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. RULING: a throw in violation shall be called on A-1 for leaving the designated spot.)

Question? Can A-1 call a time-out to not cause a violation?

I am in a discussion concerning this. And I am in the thinking that they can call a timeout because by rule a timeout can be granted while the ball is at the disposal of a player. I cited 4.4.7 that the ball is at the disposal once it is handed or thrown to the player. (nothing specifically says they must maintain control. Similar to the ref placing the ball on the ground and beginning his 5 second count. It is not in their control but it is at their disposal??)

Any help?
__________________
Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in my attempt. -- Special Olympics Athlete Oath
Reply With Quote