![]() |
|
|||
Because the case book backs me up
Quote:
A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter returns one foot to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is (a) successful, or (b) not successful. Ruling: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal is scored; play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for team B from anywhere along the end line. In (b), the point of interruption is a TRY IN FLIGHT; therefore the alternating-possession procedure is used. The writer of the case book believes the POI is not the AP but the TRY IN FLIGHT!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association Last edited by rwest; Wed Feb 09, 2011 at 08:30am. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Double Foul-Double Tech | AHSAA_Ref | Basketball | 3 | Mon Dec 06, 2010 03:57pm |
college plays- double shot | mutantducky | Basketball | 8 | Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:21pm |
Double foul and shot clock horn | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 12 | Wed Nov 05, 2008 09:18am |
Double foul shot clock issue | CA BBall Ref | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 22, 2006 09:17am |
double foul - MA shot clock ? | mdray | Basketball | 1 | Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:06am |