![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Except when
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Or when the rule disagrees with your statement that AP is not POI. 4-36-2c It's all one rule, 4-36, which is the definition of POI. I'm all for a good debate, even one on semantics and logic. My issue is that more people come to the wrong conclusion by not thinking AP is one portion of the POI rule. "Do we go AP or POI?" It's a question based on an incorrect understanding of the rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
The POI is defined as a "method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle, an interrupted game, as in 5-4-3, a correctable error, as in 2-10-6, a double personal, double technical, or simultaneous foul, as in 4-19-8 and 4-19-10," per 4-36.
So rwest, a statment that would read, "The AP is the POI when...(correct critera for using the arrow)," if you replaced POI with the definition of POI, it would read, "The AP is the method of resuming play due to...(rest of definition)." Is that more black and white for you?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
We will just have to agree to disagree
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Because the case book backs me up
Quote:
A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter returns one foot to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is (a) successful, or (b) not successful. Ruling: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal is scored; play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for team B from anywhere along the end line. In (b), the point of interruption is a TRY IN FLIGHT; therefore the alternating-possession procedure is used. The writer of the case book believes the POI is not the AP but the TRY IN FLIGHT!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association Last edited by rwest; Wed Feb 09, 2011 at 08:30am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And for the record, I'm not sure exactly whatinthehell you two are arguing about. The rules are very clear imo. Rule 4-36-1 lays out when you go to the POI. Rule 4-36-2 lays out how you resume play at the POI is in different situations. And in the play being discussed, you use 4-36-2(c) because neither team was in control. It's straightforward to me. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Double Foul-Double Tech | AHSAA_Ref | Basketball | 3 | Mon Dec 06, 2010 03:57pm |
| college plays- double shot | mutantducky | Basketball | 8 | Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:21pm |
| Double foul and shot clock horn | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 12 | Wed Nov 05, 2008 09:18am |
| Double foul shot clock issue | CA BBall Ref | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 22, 2006 09:17am |
| double foul - MA shot clock ? | mdray | Basketball | 1 | Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:06am |