The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
Tech foul is also a personal foul?

Player reaches accross line and strikes ball while still in possesion of the thrower - automatic tech. Does this also count against his personal foul total?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Yes sir.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
At the NFHS level and the NCAA level?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 451
2008-09 NCAA Men's Pg 136

Section 6. (MEN) CLASS B TECHNICAL INFRACTIONS
Art. 1. A technical foul shall be assessed to a player or a substitute for the
following infractions:
j. Reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or
dislodge the ball while it is in possession of the thrower or being
passed to a teammate outside the boundary line as in 7-5.8.a.

PENALTY: Article 1 and Article 2.a through i. Two free throws shall
be awarded to any member of the offended team. All
infractions count toward ejection but do not count toward
the team-foul total or disqualification.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 11:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
Thanks for the NCAA clarification ... what about NFHS?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 12:01am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Thanks for the NCAA clarification ... what about NFHS?
This T would go towards team foul count and player disqualification.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Player reaches across line and strikes ball while still in possession of the thrower - automatic tech. Does this also count against his personal foul total?
You would be better served to refer to and think of this as the individual foul total as it is really a cumulation of both the personal and technical fouls received.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 08:05am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Player reaches accross line and strikes ball while still in possesion of the thrower - automatic tech. Does this also count against his personal foul total?
Now, if the player reaches across and earns the 2nd (or more) D.O.G. violation of the game, this is a team tech and does not count towards the player's individual limit.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Now, if the player reaches across and earns the 2nd (or more) D.O.G. violation of the game, this is a team tech and does not count towards the player's individual limit.
In this situation, does this also mean that the HC loses his box for the remainder of the game? And this counts toward team fouls, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockchalk jhawk View Post
In this situation, does this also mean that the HC loses his box for the remainder of the game? And this counts toward team fouls, correct?
It does not count as an indirect on the coach. It does count toward the team foul count.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 08:56am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockchalk jhawk View Post
In this situation, does this also mean that the HC loses his box for the remainder of the game? And this counts toward team fouls, correct?
Only team fouls. Coach gets to keep his box as it is not counted as an indirect. Just like 6 players or a book change.

The OP does not count towards the coach, either, as it's a player tech rather than a bench player tech.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 09:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,239
Delay Of Game Player Technicals ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Now, if the player reaches across and earns the 2nd (or more) D.O.G. violation of the game, this is a team tech and does not count towards the player's individual limit.
Are any delay of game technicals charged to the individual player? How about interfering with the ball after a made field goal? We know that crossing the boundary line and contacting the ball in the hands of the inbounder is a player technical, but that may not technically be a delay of game technical.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 07:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Are any delay of game technicals charged to the individual player? How about interfering with the ball after a made field goal? We know that crossing the boundary line and contacting the ball in the hands of the inbounder is a player technical, but that may not technically be a delay of game technical.
Nope. Any T charged for one of the four items that falls under the DOG warnings will be a Team technical foul.

There are technical fouls which are charged directly to an individual player for delaying the game, but they are NOT for one of the four items listed under the DOG warnings.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 07:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,239
Team Technical Versus Player Technical ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Nope. Any T charged for one of the four items that falls under the DOG warnings will be a Team technical foul. There are technical fouls which are charged directly to an individual player for delaying the game, but they are NOT for one of the four items listed under the DOG warnings.
NFHS 10-1-5-B: Team Technical: Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.

NFHS 10-3-5-A: Player Technical: Delay the game by acts such as: Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.

Nevadaref: If a player delays the game by "preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play", how do you differentiate a team technical from a player technical? The wording seems very similar in both rules, almost exactly the same? I'm confused, as usual.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Jan 28, 2009 at 07:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Player reaches accross line and strikes ball while still in possesion of the thrower - automatic tech. Does this also count against his personal foul total?
1. In most instances would you not violate (crossing the boundary) before committing the Tech?

2. Is there still a provision for an offensive violation for your arm crossing the boundary while making throw in?
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
foul/tech foul stripesrus Basketball 14 Sat Nov 08, 2008 01:28pm
Tech Foul...Which comes first? blindofficial Basketball 2 Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:59am
Personal Foul, then Technical Foul jdw3018 Basketball 7 Sat Dec 02, 2006 05:35am
Foul shots for tech + personal dgloeck Basketball 23 Wed Jul 05, 2000 03:16pm
Tech foul at halftime Mike Lyle Basketball 3 Sun Dec 12, 1999 11:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1