The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 06, 2008, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
foul/tech foul

A1 was fouled and is in the bonus at the same time there is a
technical foul against team B. do you shoot the 1 & 1 first, or the
technical foul first then the 1 & 1. For the tech foul I know that
team A gets the ball at the division line.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 06, 2008, 08:53pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Under NF rules, you administer the fouls in the order in which they happened. A1 would shoot the one on one (or two if double bonus) with the lane cleared then you would administer the technical against team B. You say the fouls happened at the "same time". Do yourself a favor and rule that one happened (preferably the common foul) at least a split second before the other. If the technical happened first, you ignore other foul unless it is flagrant or intentional.
__________________
Yom HaShoah

Last edited by Mark Padgett; Fri Nov 07, 2008 at 12:39pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 01:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Ah yes, the infamous false multiple foul. I'm hoping to call one of these this season so I can check it off my list of exotic fouls.

If the T happened first, then you would ignore the personal foul unless it's intentional or flagrant. But he answers that one by saying they're shooting the bonus.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 09:20am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
Ah yes, the infamous false multiple foul. I'm hoping to call one of these this season so I can check it off my list of exotic fouls.
BITS, you've never called a T during a dead ball after a personal foul?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
Ah yes, the infamous false multiple foul. I'm hoping to call one of these this season so I can check it off my list of exotic fouls.
BITS has a "bucket list" For fouls how many you got left?
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
BITS has a "bucket list" For fouls how many you got left?
Well I was mostly kidding, which I realize is now strictly forbidden on this forum...but i'm kind of a scofflaw.

But since your question made me actually think...

I don't recall ever calling:
  • a flagrant personal
  • a simultaneous personal foul
  • a simultaneous technical foul
  • a multiple foul
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
BITS, you've never called a T during a dead ball after a personal foul?
Nah, I'm such a completely awesome game manager that I've never had the opportunity.

(my fingers were crossed while typing this response)
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 02:08pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
Nah, I'm such a completely awesome game manager that I've never had the opportunity.

(my fingers were crossed while typing this response)
Of course, now it will happen in the first week of the season.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 04:34pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
Well I was mostly kidding, which I realize is now strictly forbidden on this forum...but i'm kind of a scofflaw.

But since your question made me actually think...

I don't recall ever calling:
  • a flagrant personal
  • a simultaneous personal foul
  • a simultaneous technical foul
  • a multiple foul
Can one official actually call simultaneous personal or technical fouls???
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 05:57pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Can one official actually call simultaneous personal or technical fouls???
Haven't you ever worked with Schizoid Steve?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 07:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Can one official actually call simultaneous personal or technical fouls???
Diebler could.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 08:21pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,758
Inquiring Minds Want To Know ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
I don't recall ever calling:
a multiple foul.
Has anyone on this Forum ever called a multiple foul (false multiple fouls don't count), or has anyone on this Forum ever seen a multiple foul called, either in person, or on television, or has anyone on this Forum ever heard about a multiple foul being called?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 09:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Has anyone on this Forum ever called a multiple foul (false multiple fouls don't count), or has anyone on this Forum ever seen a multiple foul called, either in person, or on television, or has anyone on this Forum ever heard about a multiple foul being called?
Only in Nevada......
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 07, 2008, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Can one official actually call simultaneous personal or technical fouls???
A simultaneous personal would be difficult for a single official, but a simultaneous technical is not hard.

A1 and B1 begin to fight on the court. B6 and A6 leave their respective benches, but do not participate.

The Ts charged to B6 and A6 would make up a simultaneous technical foul. One official could certainly observe and call that.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 08, 2008, 01:28pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,758
Never Thought I Would See The Day ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Send it into "Ripleys and Believe It or Not!"
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech Foul...Which comes first? blindofficial Basketball 2 Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:59am
Double Foul Debate (Pers and Tech) Larks Basketball 1 Thu Jan 12, 2006 09:12pm
NFHS: Shooting foul, then Tech pizanno Basketball 5 Tue Feb 10, 2004 08:43am
Foul shots for tech + personal dgloeck Basketball 23 Wed Jul 05, 2000 03:16pm
Tech foul at halftime Mike Lyle Basketball 3 Sun Dec 12, 1999 11:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1