The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Tech foul is also a personal foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51224-tech-foul-also-personal-foul.html)

Johnny Ringo Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:37pm

Tech foul is also a personal foul?
 
Player reaches accross line and strikes ball while still in possesion of the thrower - automatic tech. Does this also count against his personal foul total?

BktBallRef Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:42pm

Yes sir.

Johnny Ringo Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:53pm

At the NFHS level and the NCAA level?

dahoopref Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:53pm

2008-09 NCAA Men's Pg 136
 
Section 6. (MEN) CLASS B TECHNICAL INFRACTIONS
Art. 1. A technical foul shall be assessed to a player or a substitute for the
following infractions:
j. Reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or
dislodge the ball while it is in possession of the thrower or being
passed to a teammate outside the boundary line as in 7-5.8.a.

PENALTY: Article 1 and Article 2.a through i. Two free throws shall
be awarded to any member of the offended team. All
infractions count toward ejection but do not count toward
the team-foul total or disqualification.

Johnny Ringo Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:33pm

Thanks for the NCAA clarification ... what about NFHS?

JRutledge Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 572750)
Thanks for the NCAA clarification ... what about NFHS?

This T would go towards team foul count and player disqualification.

Peace

Nevadaref Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 572733)
Player reaches across line and strikes ball while still in possession of the thrower - automatic tech. Does this also count against his personal foul total?

You would be better served to refer to and think of this as the individual foul total as it is really a cumulation of both the personal and technical fouls received.

Adam Tue Jan 27, 2009 08:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 572733)
Player reaches accross line and strikes ball while still in possesion of the thrower - automatic tech. Does this also count against his personal foul total?

Now, if the player reaches across and earns the 2nd (or more) D.O.G. violation of the game, this is a team tech and does not count towards the player's individual limit.

rockchalk jhawk Tue Jan 27, 2009 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 572793)
Now, if the player reaches across and earns the 2nd (or more) D.O.G. violation of the game, this is a team tech and does not count towards the player's individual limit.

In this situation, does this also mean that the HC loses his box for the remainder of the game? And this counts toward team fouls, correct?

jdw3018 Tue Jan 27, 2009 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockchalk jhawk (Post 572814)
In this situation, does this also mean that the HC loses his box for the remainder of the game? And this counts toward team fouls, correct?

It does not count as an indirect on the coach. It does count toward the team foul count.

Adam Tue Jan 27, 2009 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockchalk jhawk (Post 572814)
In this situation, does this also mean that the HC loses his box for the remainder of the game? And this counts toward team fouls, correct?

Only team fouls. Coach gets to keep his box as it is not counted as an indirect. Just like 6 players or a book change.

The OP does not count towards the coach, either, as it's a player tech rather than a bench player tech.

BillyMac Tue Jan 27, 2009 09:22pm

Delay Of Game Player Technicals ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 572793)
Now, if the player reaches across and earns the 2nd (or more) D.O.G. violation of the game, this is a team tech and does not count towards the player's individual limit.

Are any delay of game technicals charged to the individual player? How about interfering with the ball after a made field goal? We know that crossing the boundary line and contacting the ball in the hands of the inbounder is a player technical, but that may not technically be a delay of game technical.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 28, 2009 07:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 573061)
Are any delay of game technicals charged to the individual player? How about interfering with the ball after a made field goal? We know that crossing the boundary line and contacting the ball in the hands of the inbounder is a player technical, but that may not technically be a delay of game technical.

Nope. Any T charged for one of the four items that falls under the DOG warnings will be a Team technical foul.

There are technical fouls which are charged directly to an individual player for delaying the game, but they are NOT for one of the four items listed under the DOG warnings.

BillyMac Wed Jan 28, 2009 07:17pm

Team Technical Versus Player Technical ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 573158)
Nope. Any T charged for one of the four items that falls under the DOG warnings will be a Team technical foul. There are technical fouls which are charged directly to an individual player for delaying the game, but they are NOT for one of the four items listed under the DOG warnings.

NFHS 10-1-5-B: Team Technical: Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.

NFHS 10-3-5-A: Player Technical: Delay the game by acts such as: Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.

Nevadaref: If a player delays the game by "preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play", how do you differentiate a team technical from a player technical? The wording seems very similar in both rules, almost exactly the same? I'm confused, as usual.

LeeBallanfant Wed Jan 28, 2009 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 572733)
Player reaches accross line and strikes ball while still in possesion of the thrower - automatic tech. Does this also count against his personal foul total?

1. In most instances would you not violate (crossing the boundary) before committing the Tech?

2. Is there still a provision for an offensive violation for your arm crossing the boundary while making throw in?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1