The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Personal Foul, then Technical Foul

A question spurred by another post...

B1 commits a non-shooting personal foul against A1 while A1 is dribbling the ball. This is the 6th team foul against B. While reporting the foul, head coach B leaves his coaching box to voice his displeasure and the reporting official calls a technical foul on the HC, which is also Team B's 7th team foul.

What is the correct procedure at this point?

What if the technical is the 10th team foul?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
A question spurred by another post...

B1 commits a non-shooting personal foul against A1 while A1 is dribbling the ball. This is the 6th team foul against B. While reporting the foul, head coach B leaves his coaching box to voice his displeasure and the reporting official calls a technical foul on the HC, which is also Team B's 7th team foul.

What is the correct procedure at this point?

What if the technical is the 10th team foul?
nhfs: shoot the 2 FTs for the T, A gets the ball at the midcourt line opposite table

ncaa: shoot the 2 FTs for the T, A gets the ball at the spot of B1's foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
nhfs: shoot the 2 FTs for the T, A gets the ball at the midcourt line opposite table

ncaa: shoot the 2 FTs for the T, A gets the ball at the spot of B1's foul.
However, if it was the 10th team foul, in NFHS, the player that was fouled would shoot 1 and 1 with the lane cleared, after which, he or any player would shoot 2 FTs for the T followed by the throwin at the midcourt line opposite table.

In NCAA, I believe you would shoot the 2 for the T FIRST with the lane cleared, followed by A1 shooting 1 and 1 with the lane filled.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
A question spurred by another post...

B1 commits a non-shooting personal foul against A1 while A1 is dribbling the ball. This is the 6th team foul against B. While reporting the foul, head coach B leaves his coaching box to voice his displeasure and the reporting official calls a technical foul on the HC, which is also Team B's 7th team foul.

What is the correct procedure at this point?

What if the technical is the 10th team foul?
Fouls are penalized in the order in which they occur in NFHS. The common foul is the 6th foul, so no FTs are shot. For the 9th foul, it would be 1&1.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 515
It doesn't matter in regards to bonus free throws. You shoot 2 technical free throws, by any player or eligable sub, no matter what the foul count is.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
In NCAA, I believe you would shoot the 2 for the T FIRST with the lane cleared, followed by A1 shooting 1 and 1 with the lane filled.
This would be correct.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
It doesn't matter in regards to bonus free throws. You shoot 2 technical free throws, by any player or eligable sub, no matter what the foul count is.
Right. I just realized I wasn't 100% sure what the penalty for the personal foul would be - whether it would be a bonus/double bonus situation or not.

The Technical foul part I knew...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 05:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,444
Just remember that bonus FTs are only awarded for common fouls and you'll get it right.

PS A technical foul is not a common foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Personal Foul fonzzy07 Football 3 Fri Sep 08, 2006 07:59am
Personal foul? glt1958 Football 11 Fri Sep 02, 2005 12:21pm
Itentional Foul - Personal or Technical? RunninRef Basketball 8 Sun Feb 06, 2005 03:31pm
[NF] Technical & personal "shooting" foul administration LukeZ Basketball 4 Tue Dec 02, 2003 06:23am
personal or intentional foul Bchill24 Basketball 4 Sun Nov 10, 2002 01:20am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1