The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 07:50am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
How so? She was not holding the ball, which is fundamental to traveling.
My bad, I was thinking about a player leaving his/her feet then passing the ball and retrieving it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
okay there is no player control during an interupted dribble, and a player may directly resume dribbling of the ball upon recovery as long as it is part of the same dribble. (didn't pick up the ball - didn't trap it on the floor, and pick it up etc.).
however my question is this; wouldn't the dribble end when the ball was touched by another player, offense or defense?

If a dribble is batted by a defender then recovered by the dribbler, they can gather the ball and dribble again. If the dribbler accidently dribbles the ball off of a teammate they can gather the ball and dribble again.

I do not see any difference becase there is loss of player control durring an iterupted dribble and the ball was touched by another player IMO ending the dribble.
I got nothing here.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
okay there is no player control during an interupted dribble, and a player may directly resume dribbling of the ball upon recovery as long as it is part of the same dribble. (didn't pick up the ball - didn't trap it on the floor, and pick it up etc.).
however my question is this; wouldn't the dribble end when the ball was touched by another player, offense or defense?

If a dribble is batted by a defender then recovered by the dribbler, they can gather the ball and dribble again. If the dribbler accidently dribbles the ball off of a teammate they can gather the ball and dribble again.

I do not see any difference becase there is loss of player control durring an iterupted dribble and the ball was touched by another player IMO ending the dribble.
I got nothing here.
Re-read the original post. The ball didn't touch another player, it touched A1 again.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Re-read the original post. The ball didn't touch another player, it touched A1 again.
OOPS - In that case -
try this,
since there is no player control during an interuppted dribble the touch by A1 did not re-establish control so it would be irrelivant to what happens next.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.

Last edited by OHBBREF; Wed Oct 29, 2008 at 09:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 06:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
To recap the OP: player dribbles, ends dribble, makes short pass, receiver runs away, player moves to where ball is now bouncing on floor and ball bounces into her.

IF we consider the end of this play to be an interrupted dribble, we have a problem because the player has already used her dribble, and a second dribble, interrupted or not, is an illegal dribble.

As Nevadaref pointed out earlier, either we have to consider the initial act of pushing the ball to the floor to be the start of a second dribble, which it clearly wasn't. Or else we don't have a dribble unless A1 retrieves and controls her errant pass, which she didn't do. So what it appears to have been is merely a loose ball that touched A1, but wasn't anything else. Well, that and a bad whistle.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
My bad, I was thinking about a player leaving his/her feet then passing the ball and retrieving it.
Please forgive me for splitting hairs here, but that is still not a travel.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 08:41am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
My bad, I was thinking about a player leaving his/her feet then passing the ball and retrieving it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
Please forgive me for splitting hairs here, but that is still not a travel.
Yes it is...That would be a travel for lifting the pivot foot prior to starting a dribble. The same reason it is a travel when a player goes up for a jump shot, drops the ball, then retrieves it. That's a travel.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
Please forgive me for splitting hairs here, but that is still not a travel.
Why not? The player lifted his/her pivot foot before beginning what turned out to be a dribble. That's travelling.

See 4.44.3B
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Yes it is...That would be a travel for lifting the pivot foot prior to starting a dribble. The same reason it is a travel when a player goes up for a jump shot, drops the ball, then retrieves it. That's a travel.
It is only a travel if A1 has not picked-up the dribble. In the OP, the dribble had been picked-up. I do not see where you changed that scenario.

The NCAA case play is A.R. 200. This ruling is identical in FED. Illegal Dribble.

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why not? The player lifted his/her pivot foot before beginning what turned out to be a dribble. That's travelling.

See 4.44.3B

4.44.3B has the player returning to the floor with the ball. BNRs sitch is with the ball being released.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 12:02pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
It is only a travel if A1 has not picked-up the dribble. In the OP, the dribble had been picked-up. I do not see where you changed that scenario.

The NCAA case play is A.R. 200. This ruling is identical in FED. Illegal Dribble.

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?
If a player passes the ball and retrieves the pass, that is considered a dribble.
  • If the player has not dribbled yet and does not lift his/her pivot prior to releasing the ball then it's a legal play.
  • If the player lifts his/her pivot foot (ie: jump) prior to releasing the ball it is a travel for lifting one's pivot prior to dribbling.
  • If the player has already completed a dribble prior to this action then it's an illegal dribble.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 09:25am.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
4.44.3B has the player returning to the floor with the ball. BNRs sitch is with the ball being released.
In the 2008-09 book the player jumps, releases the ball and starts a dribble -- travelling violation. I thought that was the play being discussed. Apologies if it wasn't.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
In the 2008-09 book the player jumps, releases the ball and starts a dribble -- travelling violation. I thought that was the play being discussed. Apologies if it wasn't.
I referenced an 06-07 online Fed version. It might be that my reference was incorrect. BNR's post #26 covers all the possibilities of which I am aware.
No apology necessary as no offense was taken. Friends?
(Boy isn't this kinder, gentler forum great!)
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double dribble?? zac Basketball 13 Tue Jul 20, 2004 01:07am
Double Dribble Gmoore Basketball 2 Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:33am
double dribble? footlocker Basketball 19 Thu Feb 05, 2004 01:04pm
Double Dribble MarkD Basketball 3 Mon Feb 11, 2002 02:36pm
Double Dribble? a.f.sports Basketball 13 Wed Feb 06, 2002 07:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1