The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2004, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 112
I have a question i asked on another board and got an answer but i thought i would post it here to see if i can get some more input..

A1 is dribbling up to court B1 applies pressure A1 picks up his dribble under pressure from B1 he looses his balance while falling and NOT moving his piviot foot he allows the ball to contact the floor and while doing this he pushes himself back up Call?

#2 A1 recieves inbound pass faces B1 lets Ball contact the floor while holding it in both hands then begins to dribble Call?

I saw play #2 called double dribble three times today in a
grade school state playoff game

I dont see this as double dribble by reading the defention of a dribble but maybe i am missing something
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2004, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 301
You are correct. Rule 4-15 Art. 4 note 3. This is called incorrectly all the time. Just like the fumble rule is not known or interpreted as a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2004, 12:33am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Post What BigJoe said.

4-15-4 Note 3: "...It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches the floor once or more than once."

(In case you do not have a rule book)

mick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1