The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 07:18pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Interupted Dribble, NFHS Only ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I believe that this qualifies as an interrupted dribble once the ball is clearly out of player control.
NFHS 4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler.

Are you sure? She deliberately threw a pass. The ball did momentarily get away from the her, but it was a pass. I certainly can see your reasoning, but I'm still not convinced.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
NFHS 4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler.

Are you sure? She deliberately threw a pass. The ball did momentarily get away from the her, but it was a pass. I certainly can see your reasoning, but I'm still not convinced.
When the "pass" did not go TO another player, but simply went into open space on the floor it became a dribble. Since it is clearly not in player control while it is momentarily beyond the reach of this player, it seems to me that it has to become an interrupted dribble.

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and
secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the
sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass.
Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the
court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing.
A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING:
Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a
dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass);
the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the
ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
So an interrupted dribble, which occurs after the player's original dribble has been used is not an illegal dribble?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2008, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
So an interrupted dribble, which occurs after the player's original dribble has been used is not an illegal dribble?
I see your point, BITS. However, if you are going to consider the "pass" to be a dribble, then you should sound the whistle and call a violation as soon as A1 begins the second dribble.

This is a strange play, but my opinion is still that it isn't a violation because it doesn't meet the intent and purpose of the rule. A1 was not trying to dribble a second time, nor was A1 trying to touch the ball after throwing it in the direction of A2.

Just my thoughts.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2008, 12:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I see your point, BITS. However, if you are going to consider the "pass" to be a dribble, then you should sound the whistle and call a violation as soon as A1 begins the second dribble.

This is a strange play, but my opinion is still that it isn't a violation because it doesn't meet the intent and purpose of the rule. A1 was not trying to dribble a second time, nor was A1 trying to touch the ball after throwing it in the direction of A2.

Just my thoughts.
You're right, this was a strange play. Just trying to understand it a little better. Nobody said a word about the call at the time; but that does not mean I got it right.

Just for my edification: If the situation were a little different, if she had passed the ball and then gone and actually picked it up, now we have an illegal dribble, correct?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2008, 08:31am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post

Just for my edification: If the situation were a little different, if she had passed the ball and then gone and actually picked it up, now we have an illegal dribble, correct?

Or travelling?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2008, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Or travelling?
How so? She was not holding the ball, which is fundamental to traveling.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2008, 06:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
You're right, this was a strange play. Just trying to understand it a little better. Nobody said a word about the call at the time; but that does not mean I got it right.

Just for my edification: If the situation were a little different, if she had passed the ball and then gone and actually picked it up, now we have an illegal dribble, correct?
Yes, that would clearly be a second dribble.

PS It's definitely not traveling, but sadly there are many officials who would call such.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
okay there is no player control during an interupted dribble, and a player may directly resume dribbling of the ball upon recovery as long as it is part of the same dribble. (didn't pick up the ball - didn't trap it on the floor, and pick it up etc.).
however my question is this; wouldn't the dribble end when the ball was touched by another player, offense or defense?

If a dribble is batted by a defender then recovered by the dribbler, they can gather the ball and dribble again. If the dribbler accidently dribbles the ball off of a teammate they can gather the ball and dribble again.

I do not see any difference becase there is loss of player control durring an iterupted dribble and the ball was touched by another player IMO ending the dribble.
I got nothing here.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double dribble?? zac Basketball 13 Tue Jul 20, 2004 01:07am
Double Dribble Gmoore Basketball 2 Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:33am
double dribble? footlocker Basketball 19 Thu Feb 05, 2004 01:04pm
Double Dribble MarkD Basketball 3 Mon Feb 11, 2002 02:36pm
Double Dribble? a.f.sports Basketball 13 Wed Feb 06, 2002 07:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1