![]() |
|
|
|||
So an interrupted dribble, which occurs after the player's original dribble has been used is not an illegal dribble?
![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
This is a strange play, but my opinion is still that it isn't a violation because it doesn't meet the intent and purpose of the rule. A1 was not trying to dribble a second time, nor was A1 trying to touch the ball after throwing it in the direction of A2. Just my thoughts. |
|
|||
Quote:
Just for my edification: If the situation were a little different, if she had passed the ball and then gone and actually picked it up, now we have an illegal dribble, correct?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
Or travelling?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
How so? She was not holding the ball, which is fundamental to traveling.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
My bad, I was thinking about a player leaving his/her feet then passing the ball and retrieving it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Please forgive me for splitting hairs here, but that is still not a travel.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() PS It's definitely not traveling, but sadly there are many officials who would call such. ![]() |
|
|||
okay there is no player control during an interupted dribble, and a player may directly resume dribbling of the ball upon recovery as long as it is part of the same dribble. (didn't pick up the ball - didn't trap it on the floor, and pick it up etc.).
however my question is this; wouldn't the dribble end when the ball was touched by another player, offense or defense? If a dribble is batted by a defender then recovered by the dribbler, they can gather the ball and dribble again. If the dribbler accidently dribbles the ball off of a teammate they can gather the ball and dribble again. I do not see any difference becase there is loss of player control durring an iterupted dribble and the ball was touched by another player IMO ending the dribble. I got nothing here.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
try this, since there is no player control during an interuppted dribble the touch by A1 did not re-establish control so it would be irrelivant to what happens next.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. Last edited by OHBBREF; Wed Oct 29, 2008 at 09:45am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Double dribble?? | zac | Basketball | 13 | Tue Jul 20, 2004 01:07am |
Double Dribble | Gmoore | Basketball | 2 | Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:33am |
double dribble? | footlocker | Basketball | 19 | Thu Feb 05, 2004 01:04pm |
Double Dribble | MarkD | Basketball | 3 | Mon Feb 11, 2002 02:36pm |
Double Dribble? | a.f.sports | Basketball | 13 | Wed Feb 06, 2002 07:43pm |