The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 12:18pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Assistance

These wierdo plays seem to happen mainly in wreck games? Help me out with these please.

1. B1 slaps the ball away from the dribbler A1 in the frontcourt near the sideline. B1 jumps out of bounds tips the ball back onto the court & is the first to touch after establishing in bound status… violation or not? We had violation.

2. On the jump ball to start the game A5 gently taps once, the ball drops straight down, B1 (non-jumper) reaches into the circle & gains control… violation or not? My partner (chopping) had violation.

3. A5 goes for an offensive rebound but contacts B5 from behind in the process. Ruling: "push" or over-the-back as the fans like to say so we go the other way on the endline. The in-bounds pass goes out of bounds untouched on the sideline past half court. Before we administer the throw-in (on the same endline) the table says that A5s foul was the 7th team.
a. Is that correctable?
b. Do we shoot 1 & 1 even though the team just threw the ball away??
c. Would the lane be cleared & Team A in bounding on the same endline
where Team B turned it over?
My partner ruled that we will shoot 1 & 1 with players on the lane.


I had 7 very competitive Varsity ballgames at Vernes camp last week end & not one single wierdo play, I had four mens comp games @ DU last nite (one forfeit) and I get all this.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 12:33pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
1. B1 slaps the ball away from the dribbler A1 in the frontcourt near the sideline. B1 jumps out of bounds tips the ball back onto the court & is the first to touch after establishing in bound status… violation or not? We had violation.
Are you saying that B1 was out of bounds when touching the ball?

If that is not what you are saying and B1 was actually on the court, this would not be a violation. This is not football, all you have to do is come back in and you can touch any ball in bounds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
2. On the jump ball to start the game A5 gently taps once, the ball drops straight down, B1 (non-jumper) reaches into the circle & gains control… violation or not? My partner (chopping) had violation.
Violation for what specifically? It is not illegal for a non-jumper to gain possession anywhere on the court after a jump ball?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
3. A5 goes for an offensive rebound but contacts B5 from behind in the process. Ruling: "push" or over-the-back as the fans like to say so we go the other way on the endline. The in-bounds pass goes out of bounds untouched on the sideline past half court. Before we administer the throw-in (on the same endline) the table says that A5s foul was the 7th team.
a. Is that correctable?
b. Do we shoot 1 & 1 even though the team just threw the ball away??
c. Would the lane be cleared & Team A in bounding on the same endline
where Team B turned it over?
My partner ruled that we will shoot 1 & 1 with players on the lane.
Yes this is correctable; this took place within the time frame. You shoot the 1 and 1 with the lane clear. Then you bring the ball back to spot where you noticed the error. So the ball is brought to the end line with Team A in possession.

It sounds like you let your partner run things. If these were real games you could get in trouble with them, you got to know these rules. Know you will know and you will likely own those rules for now on.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
[QUOTE=Ch1town]These wierdo plays seem to happen mainly in wreck games? Help me out with these please.

1. B1 slaps the ball away from the dribbler A1 in the frontcourt near the sideline. B1 jumps out of bounds tips the ball back onto the court & is the first to touch after establishing in bound status… violation or not? We had violation. If momentum took them out and they re-established themselves. It is legal


2. On the jump ball to start the game A5 gently taps once, the ball drops straight down, B1 (non-jumper) reaches into the circle & gains control… violation or not? My partner (chopping) had violation.

If it hits the floor. I got nothing Play on.


3. A5 goes for an offensive rebound but contacts B5 from behind in the process. Ruling: "push" or over-the-back as the fans like to say so we go the other way on the endline. The in-bounds pass goes out of bounds untouched on the sideline past half court. Before we administer the throw-in (on the same endline) the table says that A5s foul was the 7th team.
a. Is that correctable? Yes!!

b. Do we shoot 1 & 1 even though the team just threw the ball away?? Yes,


c. Would the lane be cleared & Team A in bounding on the same endline
where Team B turned it over? Yes!!!
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 12:41pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
[QUOTE=truerookie]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town

2. On the jump ball to start the game A5 gently taps once, the ball drops straight down, B1 (non-jumper) reaches into the circle & gains control… violation or not? My partner (chopping) had violation.

If it hits the floor. I got nothing Play on.

Why would the ball have to hit the floor? Jump ball restrictions for non-jumpers end when the ball is touched by one of the jumpers. NFHS rule 6-3-5.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
[QUOTE=Jurassic Referee]
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Why would the ball have to hit the floor? Jump ball restrictions for non-jumpers end when the ball is touched by one of the jumpers. NFHS rule 6-3-5.
Correct!! My attempt was to inform OP that once it was touch a non-jumper could retrieve it. It did not come across as I intended.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 01:29pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Appreciate all the feedback! I love this forum!

On the going out & coming back in to retrieve the ball play, my partner said something about last to touch, first to touch?? Help me out, what did he really mean?

On the jump ball play, I knew that it was wrong because the jumpers didn't obtain the ball & the jump began when it left my hand & ended when A5 gently tapped it.

As for the correctable error, had the table let us know it was 7 in the first place it would've been no problem. I really thought on correctable errors that we would indeed go back to where we were when we learned of the mistake. I just think it gives the wrong impression for officials to disagree publicly on the court. So I let some things ride that I shouldn't have


JRut: Yeah, I did let my partner run things all night long.
He was the senior guy, a transfer from ATL who claimed to have had worked D2 & JUCO. My first time meeting him & all, his mechanics were so crisp & his reporting was very, very smooth so I didn't second guess much of anything he said... well except that jump ball situation & correctable error but I kept that to myself. Didn't want the older guy thinking I was some young arrogant punk. Last time a partner & I disagreed, we went to the books at halftime & that only angered him more & made for an extra-long evening.
For the record, last season was my first being patched & working varsity level games, so I got teamed up with true vets who guided me through, but yeah you're right, I need to KNOW those rules. When we get our new books in the mail, I'll be on it!!

JR: From the knowledge I soaked up last weekend I will have to disagree & unfortunately rephrase that "we as a crew went 3 for 3. All wrong."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 01:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
1) On the going out & coming back in to retrieve the ball play, my partner said something about last to touch, first to touch?? Help me out, what did he really mean?

2)JR: From the knowledge I soaked up last weekend I will have to disagree & unfortunately rephrase that "we as a crew went 3 for 3. All wrong."
1) He meant that he doesn't really know or understand the rule.

2) Great comment. And correct also. We collectively take any credit coming, and we also collectively share any blame coming.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 01:49pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
JRut: Yeah, I did let my partner run things all night long.
He was the senior guy, a transfer from ATL who claimed to have had worked D2 & JUCO. My first time meeting him & all, his mechanics were so crisp & his reporting was very, very smooth so I didn't second guess much of anything he said... well except that jump ball situation & correctable error but I kept that to myself. Didn't want the older guy thinking I was some young arrogant punk. Last time a partner & I disagreed, we went to the books at halftime & that only angered him more & made for an extra-long evening.
For the record, last season was my first being patched & working varsity level games, so I got teamed up with true vets who guided me through, but yeah you're right, I need to KNOW those rules. When we get our new books in the mail, I'll be on it!!
It is common for officials to transfer from one area to another and say they worked a particular level. Do not get caught up into that. Also working D2 or JUCO does not make you a rules expert, it just means you worked a level you were assigned. For all you know the competition was not that high and he was asked to work that level based on his availability rather than his pure ability. That is a guess but it could be somewhat true. I have worked college games with people that cannot work a decent HS game. You will learn that as time goes on and you see guys come and go in and out of your area.

Now if you knew a mistake was being made by an official, then you should go to that official and insist you apply the rules properly or that "we" might have made a mistake. If the calling official insists on doing the wrong thing, then at least when the chips fall you can say you did what you did what you could to convince them. In the situation where the player was out of bounds and then back in bounds, it is possible you would have no idea why your partner called a violation. There are a couple of explanations that would make this a violation but based on your specific question it would not be. If you are working varsity, you have to learn to "step up" to a veteran when things are clearly wrong. You will not be given a pass if something is applied wrong and you have knowledge about it. It will affect your career.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
JRut: Yeah, I did let my partner run things all night long.
He was the senior guy, a transfer from ATL who claimed to have had worked D2 & JUCO.
What this could mean is that he's done one or two of each, and in those situations the assignor put him with vets who wouldn't let him go far wrong. But that doesn't mean he's got a clue. The next time someone says they've worked this level, ask when was the last one, and if they were the R. I'd bet a fair amount of donuts this guys NEVER been the R in a college game!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
1. B1 slaps the ball away from the dribbler A1 in the frontcourt near the sideline. B1 jumps out of bounds tips the ball back onto the court & is the first to touch after establishing in bound status… violation or not? We had violation. If momentum took them out and they re-established themselves. It is legal
What does momentum have to do with this play?
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
What does momentum have to do with this play?
The player attempted to save the ball and stay inbounds at the same time. but he/she could not do it successfully so their momentum took them OOB .
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
The player attempted to save the ball and stay inbounds at the same time. but he/she could not do it successfully so their momentum took them OOB .
What I'm asking, though, is what difference does it make in regards to calling/not calling an OOB violation? Think it over for a bit.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 04:53pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
The player attempted to save the ball and stay inbounds at the same time. but he/she could not do it successfully so their momentum took them OOB .
Yabut....what has that got to do in any way with the call?

The only information needed to make the call is the status of the player when he touches the ball---> i.e. in bounds or out-of-bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 05:08pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
I think people are trying to use the "leave the court under his/her own volition" rule into play. Not that I agree that is what took place here, but I think people are getting caught up in the fact he went out of bounds and came in and this might be a violation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yabut....what has that got to do in any way with the call?

The only information needed to make the call is the status of the player when he touches the ball---> i.e. in bounds or out-of-bounds.
Well, I think I know what truerookie might be trying to say, although it's probably not a situation that would happen a lot. Let's say A1 saves the ball from going OOB, but happens to flip it back behind B1. The quickest way for A1 to now get the ball is to go OOB around B1. The momentum didn't carry A1 OOB, but A1 purposely went OOB. In this case, it would be a violation on A1, and it wouldn't matter where A1 was when the ball was first saved, or recovered.

However, in most cases, A1 is falling OOB to save it, so as long as A1 has in-bounds status when the ball is saved, and has in-bounds status when the ball is recovered, it's a legal play.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assistance appreciated! SWMOzebra Basketball 4 Thu Mar 22, 2007 01:59pm
Overlap Assistance jkumpire Volleyball 1 Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:34pm
Need assistance on this call TonyD Football 9 Tue Oct 25, 2005 05:40pm
Part One Questions Assistance refnrev Volleyball 3 Sat Jul 23, 2005 10:24am
Looking for some assistance nig85 Softball 9 Sat Feb 26, 2005 02:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1