The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
OK here is my thought on a foul while the ball is at the disposal of A1 but A1 has not picked up the ball. I don't care if there actually is or is not team control. Most likely it would be an Intentional foul. Players are either lined up or not lined up. If there is a foul, then no one is making a play on the ball. You probably have players pushing and/or shoving. Thus Intentional Foul. A1 would shoot the original free throw. The shoot the free throws for the Intentional foul. Ball OOB at the spot of the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 10:55am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Nfhs...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
OK here is my thought on a foul while the ball is at the disposal of A1 but A1 has not picked up the ball. I don't care if there actually is or is not team control. Most likely it would be an Intentional foul. Players are either lined up or not lined up. If there is a foul, then no one is making a play on the ball. You probably have players pushing and/or shoving. Thus Intentional Foul. A1 would shoot the original free throw. The shoot the free throws for the Intentional foul. Ball OOB at the spot of the foul.
Rule 6-1-2c: ...the ball becomes live when: On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.

Therefore, while the ball is in the officials hand(s) up until the point the free thrower has the ball at his/her disposal, the ball is dead. Contact warranting a whistle during this period would be during a "dead ball" thus a technical foul (4-19-5c).
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Dec 04, 2006 at 11:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If a teammate of the the FT shooter commits a foul after the FT shooter picks up the ball, is it a team control foul and the FT is cancelled?
How is this handled?
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Rule 6-1-2c: ...the ball becomes live when: On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.

Therefore, while the ball is in the officials hand(s) up until the point the free thrower has the ball at his/her disposal, the ball is dead. Contact warranting a whistle during this period would be during a "dead ball" thus a technical foul (4-19-5c).
I am well aware that the ball is 'live' when it is at the disposal of the free thrower. Whether the thrower has the ball or the ball is placed on the floor. I am just thinking that if during this time frame, then when a player commits a foul it would be Intentional in nature. So the question of 'Team Control' does not even enter into the equation.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
How is this handled?
The only thing that cancels a FT is a violation by Team A. Fouls do not cancel FTs.

Player control is established when a player is dribbling or holding a live ball inbounds. Team control is established at the same time. Batting the ball does not establish team or player control.

During a dead ball, which includes the time before the FT shooter holds the ball, any contact should be ignored unless it is intentional or flagrant. SInce the ball is dead, the foul would be technical, not personal.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Rule 6-1-2c: ...the ball becomes live when: On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.

Therefore, while the ball is in the officials hand(s) up until the point the free thrower has the ball at his/her disposal, the ball is dead. Contact warranting a whistle during this period would be during a "dead ball" thus a technical foul (4-19-5c).
They are discussing a situation in which the FT shooter doesn't accept the ball or is not there due to the RPP and the ball is placed on the floor at the FT line. That is the other way to put it at the disposal of the FT shooter and make the ball live.

So, if A2 fouls B3 during this time what are you going to do?
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 12:46pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
They are discussing a situation in which the FT shooter doesn't accept the ball or is not there due to the RPP and the ball is placed on the floor at the FT line. That is the other way to put it at the disposal of the FT shooter and make the ball live.

So, if A2 fouls B3 during this time what are you going to do?
8-1-2 reads ...placed at the disposal of the thrower OR placed on the floor...

I've scanned the rulebook but I haven't found anywhere that states the ball is live solely because RPP is being utilized. 6-1-2 is pretty specific about when a ball becomes live.

Does RPP equate to disposal?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
They are discussing a situation in which the FT shooter doesn't accept the ball or is not there due to the RPP and the ball is placed on the floor at the FT line. That is the other way to put it at the disposal of the FT shooter and make the ball live.

So, if A2 fouls B3 during this time what are you going to do?
Live ball. Intentional (Personal) Foul!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
8-1-2 reads ...placed at the disposal of the thrower OR placed on the floor...

I've scanned the rulebook but I haven't found anywhere that states the ball is live solely because RPP is being utilized. 6-1-2 is pretty specific about when a ball becomes live.

Does RPP equate to disposal?
Let's just think about the situation. If you are using RPP for either throw-in or free throw, then when do you start the 5 sec. or 10 sec. count? Once you start the count, then the ball is live. Thus, ball is placed on the floor (at the disposal). Are you starting the count?
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 01:15pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
Let's just think about the situation. If you are using RPP for either throw-in or free throw, then when do you start the 5 sec. or 10 sec. count? Once you start the count, then the ball is live. Thus, ball is placed on the floor (at the disposal). Are you starting the count?
I'm looking for definitive status (live/dead) in writing (rulebook or casebook). 6-1-2 states specifcally ball becomes live when at the disposal of the thrower. 8-1-2 lists placing ball at disposal and placing ball on the floor as 2 separate acts.

I would agree with you if 8-1-2 said placed at the disposal of the thrower (including placing the ball on the floor).
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
8-1-2 reads ...placed at the disposal of the thrower OR placed on the floor...

I've scanned the rulebook but I haven't found anywhere that states the ball is live solely because RPP is being utilized. 6-1-2 is pretty specific about when a ball becomes live.

Does RPP equate to disposal?
Does this help?

PLACING AT DISPOSAL
8.1.1 SITUATION A: A1 is awarded two free throws. After the players have had sufficient opportunity and time to take their positions for the first throw, the administering official bounces the ball to the free thrower. Did the official follow proper procedure? RULING: Yes. On free throws, the word “disposal,” is interpreted to mean that the official shall bounce the ball to the free thrower, but if the free thrower refuses to accept it, the official may place the ball on the floor at the free-throw line and begin the count. This procedure constitutes putting the ball at the free-thrower's disposal. However, in this situation, the ball becomes live when it is caught by the free thrower. (4-4-7b)
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I'm looking for definitive status (live/dead) in writing (rulebook or casebook). 6-1-2 states specifcally ball becomes live when at the disposal of the thrower. 8-1-2 lists placing ball at disposal and placing ball on the floor as 2 separate acts.

I would agree with you if 8-1-2 said placed at the disposal of the thrower (including placing the ball on the floor).
If Team B is not ready, then the ball is bounced to A1. Once A1 has the ball it is 'at the disposal'. Team A is not ready, then place the ball on the floor. Once ball is on the floor then it is 'at the disposal'.
I also believe page 59 in case book, Case play 8.1.1 explains it.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 02:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
How is this handled?
If the ball hasn't left the FT shooter's hands on the shot when a teammate commits the foul, the ball is dead immediately and it's a player control foul. The FT shooter then gets replacement FT(s) with no one on the lanes. If the last FT is made, the opponents get an endline throw-in as after any made FT. If the last FT is missed, the opponents get a spot throw-in at the closest spot to where the team control foul occurred.

As soon as the ball is at the disposal of the FT shooter, any foul committed by a teammate before the FT is in the air is a team control foul.

Case book play 6.7SitB.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Dec 04, 2006 at 03:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If the ball hasn't left the FT shooter's hands on the shot when a teammate commits the foul, the ball is dead immediately and it's a player control foul.
????????????? (let's see, is that ten of them?)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
player control/team control hardwoodballers Basketball 56 Wed Aug 23, 2006 08:41am
Player control vs Team control foul QuebecRef87 Basketball 6 Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am
Player COntrol vs. Team Control tjksail Basketball 32 Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:38pm
Team control TriggerMN Basketball 4 Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:52pm
Team Control williebfree Basketball 17 Tue Nov 21, 2000 02:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1