View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 11:13am
Zoochy Zoochy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Rule 6-1-2c: ...the ball becomes live when: On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.

Therefore, while the ball is in the officials hand(s) up until the point the free thrower has the ball at his/her disposal, the ball is dead. Contact warranting a whistle during this period would be during a "dead ball" thus a technical foul (4-19-5c).
I am well aware that the ball is 'live' when it is at the disposal of the free thrower. Whether the thrower has the ball or the ball is placed on the floor. I am just thinking that if during this time frame, then when a player commits a foul it would be Intentional in nature. So the question of 'Team Control' does not even enter into the equation.
Reply With Quote