View Single Post
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 01:15pm
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
Let's just think about the situation. If you are using RPP for either throw-in or free throw, then when do you start the 5 sec. or 10 sec. count? Once you start the count, then the ball is live. Thus, ball is placed on the floor (at the disposal). Are you starting the count?
I'm looking for definitive status (live/dead) in writing (rulebook or casebook). 6-1-2 states specifcally ball becomes live when at the disposal of the thrower. 8-1-2 lists placing ball at disposal and placing ball on the floor as 2 separate acts.

I would agree with you if 8-1-2 said placed at the disposal of the thrower (including placing the ball on the floor).
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote