![]() |
team control during freethrow?
Does a team have team control during a freethrow? And if they do, when does that control start? Thanks in advance.
|
Team control I do believe starts at the moment the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower. And yes there is team control (Rule 4 Sec. 13 Art 6)
|
Rule 4-12. Especially note arts 5 and 6.
|
Quote:
|
i saw your rules quote...and i followed your lead....threw one of my own in there
|
Soooooooo....is there team control if you put the ball at the <b>disposal</b> of the free-throw shooter but he hasn't picked it up yet?
If a teammate of the FT shooter commits a foul <b>before</b> the FT shooter picks up the ball that is at his disposal, is it a team control foul and the FT is cancelled? If a teammate of the the FT shooter commits a foul <b>after</b> the FT shooter picks up the ball, is it a team control foul and the FT is cancelled? Inquiring minds need to know! |
Why would the FT be cancelled?
|
The 06-07 officials quiz on referee.com is saying that there is not team control during a freethrow. Quest. #11. There is team control during:
A) a throw in B)while a pass from A1 to A2 is in flight C)a dribble by A1 D)a free throw while the shooter is holding the ball E)a jump ball I chose b,c, and d. However, they are saying b and c are the only answers. Is this a mistake or am I interpreting the question wrong? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Nobody has anwered any questions yet. |
Quote:
Do you have an NFHS cite? |
the answer key or solutions that referee provides does not have (D) as one of the answers
|
Quote:
REFEREE is not an official rules source and never has been. |
NCAA page BR-79
|
Quote:
A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble. During a FT, if a player holding a live ball inbounds? You tell me, ctp5. :) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19pm. |