The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
defensive steal

Hey guys. Just want clarification on this play ----> Defensive player B1 jumps from his/her frontcourt and while in the air intercepts a pass. B1’s momentum is such that he/she lands with the first foot clearly in B’s frontcourt. B1’s other foot then comes down in B’s backcourt after the first foot was down in the frontcourt. Is this a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
no violation as per rule 9-9-3

Art. 3... A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
I agree with JM.

One caveat...B1 does not have the freedom to pass to a teammate in the backcourt while still airborne. B1 and the ball are in the FC but due to the exception, does not violation. However, the exception is only for the airborne player...not teammates.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
I agree that a player may jump from his FC and secure control of the ball while in the air as described in this case play. After B1 secures the ball in the air, he has player/team control and once B1 lands with his first foot in the FC, doesn't he have FC status? And when his other foot touches in the BC, a BC violation occurs. Look at case 9.9.1 situation B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 03:23pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmettoref
I agree that a player may jump from his FC and secure control of the ball while in the air as described in this case play. After B1 secures the ball in the air, he has player/team control and once B1 lands with his first foot in the FC, doesn't he have FC status? And when his other foot touches in the BC, a BC violation occurs. Look at case 9.9.1 situation B.
You need to read it again. You're describing part(b) of 9.9.1SitB which is legal. See the language of rule 9-9-3--"The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You need to read it again. You're describing part(b) of 9.9.1SitB which is legal. See the language of rule 9-9-3--"The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt".

JR,

If the first foot comes down in the FC, doesn't B1 have FC status? Therefore a violation if the other foot touches the BC following the first foot touching the FC?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Case 9.9.1 sit B, example A states that the player lands with both feet in the front court, then steps into the BC, this is a violation because they made a normal catch and established FC status In the other examples, (one foot in each FC and BC, and both feet in BC) there is no violation.

It doesn't matter what case you cite, rule 9-9-1 specifically makes an allowance for the play as you originally described it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by JM_00
Case 9.9.1 sit B, example A states that the player lands with both feet in the front court, then steps into the BC, this is a violation because they made a normal catch and established FC status In the other examples, (one foot in each FC and BC, and both feet in BC) there is no violation.

It doesn't matter what case you cite, rule 9-9-1 specifically makes an allowance for the play as you originally described it.
JM. A normal catch was made when B1 secured the ball in the air, came down in the FC first and established FC status. If he secures the ball in the air and lands with one foot in each the FC and BC, then you are right --- no violation because B1 has BC status.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coverage of Steal of third blackjack21 Baseball 33 Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:43pm
Steal of Home U_of_I_Blue Baseball 4 Fri Jun 24, 2005 01:35pm
walk steal? softbllmom Softball 21 Fri May 20, 2005 11:36am
Walking steal. Roger Greene Softball 37 Thu Sep 04, 2003 08:40am
Can we steal on foul tip? sasan14 Baseball 4 Thu Jul 26, 2001 03:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1