The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 07:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 710
Clarification

OK,

We now agree that B1 has backcourt status on the play. Why can't he pass to another player who has BC status? The initial play is over. Team control is established in the backcourt. What prevents B1 from legally passing to B2 in the BC?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
OK,

We now agree that B1 has backcourt status on the play. Why can't he pass to another player who has BC status?
Because the rule that allows the airborne player to land in the backcourt allows ONLY the airborne player to bring the ball into the backcourt. The exception is written explicitly for the player who catches the ball while airborne. Once that player releases the ball, the exception no longer applies.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 710
That still makes no sense. The exception allows the player to land in the backcourt. That is the end of the play. The ball now legally has BC status. Why can't another player retreat into the backcourt to receive a pass? By definition, the 10 second count should start again. Why would B be penalized by only allowing B1 to bring the ball back up the court?

I'm going to see one of our rules gurus tonight. I may ask him about this.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
That still makes no sense. The exception allows the player to land in the backcourt. That is the end of the play. The ball now legally has BC status. Why can't another player retreat into the backcourt to receive a pass? By definition, the 10 second count should start again. Why would B be penalized by only allowing B1 to bring the ball back up the court?

I'm going to see one of our rules gurus tonight. I may ask him about this.
The player may pass to a teammate in the backcourt AFTER he lands not while in the air.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 710
Ok

Thats what I thought. I may have just misunderstood what the other people were saying...talking about throwing the pass while B1 was still in the air versus what I was talking about, after the action was complete.

Proving once again that communication is still important.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
Thats what I thought. I may have just misunderstood what the other people were saying...
Yup, and I misunderstood your question. Sorry. You are absolutely right. Once the airborne player has landed in the backcourt, s/he can legally pass the ball to anyone, even if the other person is also in the backcourt. Sorry about that.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 710
Thats OK...No Blood, No Foul

Wait, I'm not allowed to say that here!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 09:35am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
Yup, and I misunderstood your question. Sorry. You are absolutely right. Once the airborne player has landed in the backcourt, s/he can legally pass the ball to anyone, even if the other person is also in the backcourt. Sorry about that.
What's up with all this apology stuff?

Aren't you supposed to say that the original question wasn't very clear or that it may be a regional thing and you can't speak for how they do things where Ignats lives?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Aren't you supposed to say that the original question wasn't very clear or that it may be a regional thing and you can't speak for how they do things where Ignats lives?
You've got me confused with another poster. When I'm wrong, I recognize it, apologize and move on. Keeps my blood pressure down.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 09:56am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
When I'm wrong, I recognize it, apologize and move on.
You should probably hire a secretary to do that for you. It would save you just a ton of time.

Think of all the quality time that you could free up to spend with your dog.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 26, 2006, 07:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
You've got me confused with another poster. When I'm wrong, I recognize it, apologize and move on. Keeps my blood pressure down.
I think that Chuck is saying that, like the rest of him, his ego is relatively small.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coverage of Steal of third blackjack21 Baseball 33 Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:43pm
Steal of Home U_of_I_Blue Baseball 4 Fri Jun 24, 2005 01:35pm
walk steal? softbllmom Softball 21 Fri May 20, 2005 11:36am
Walking steal. Roger Greene Softball 37 Thu Sep 04, 2003 08:40am
Can we steal on foul tip? sasan14 Baseball 4 Thu Jul 26, 2001 03:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1