Thread: defensive steal
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 03:14am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
While I have the same conclusion, I do not agree with the description.

The determination of B1's status is not delayed or unknown; B1 is in the frontcourt and has control of the ball...players and the ball always have a status. However, B1 is given exception to the backcourt violation despite having frontcourt status with contol of the ball before touching in the backcourt.

I make this claim because B1 s not allowed to pass to any other B player in the backcourt while airborne in this situation without causing a backcourt violation.
I agree 100% with Camron's post. B1 does have FC status until the second foot lands, plus there is both player and team control. After landing the player then has backcourt status, but he is not penalized in this specific case because of the exception written into the NFHS rules in 9-9-3.
Reply With Quote