Thread: defensive steal
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 04:29pm
palmettoref palmettoref is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
No, B1 does not have FC status when his first foot touches down. That's exactly what rule 9-9-3 is telling you. B1's landing is an exception to the normal way of determining frontcourt/backcourt status. The NFHS is saying that because B1 is completely airborne, he doesn't have his status determined until after both feet have landed. After landing, if B1 has one feet in the FC and one foot in the BC, then B1 now has BC status but also never has had frontcourt status.

Note that this exception only applies to a completely airborne player. If a player takes a throw-in or steals a pass with one foot already on the court, then, yes, where that foot is touching the court will determine their FC/BC status.
ok. thanks
Reply With Quote