The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 24, 2025, 12:03pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,526
Word Salad ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
3) The moment that A1's foot touched the Division Line A1 committed a Backcourt Violation.
What part of the "word salad" backcourt rule had been violated?

NFHS Backcourt 9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Ball was never in the backcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 24, 2025, 12:05pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,526
Flight Of Fancy ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
What part of the "word salad" backcourt rule had been violated? NFHS Backcourt 9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. Ball was never in the backcourt.
Coud this be our support?

NFHS 4-4-3: Ball Location: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.

Flight could mean a try, a pass, or between dribbles?

Between dribbles also includes player control.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Aug 24, 2025 at 05:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 24, 2025, 07:08pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,174
2024-25 NFHS Basketball Rules R4-S12-A1.

The Rule referenced in the heading to my comment is:

"A player is in control of the ball the the player is holding or dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble"

Furthermore:

2024-25 NCAA Men's Basketball R4-S9-A1b: A player shall be in control when dribbling a live ball inbounds.

2024-25 & 2025-26 NCAA Women's Basketball R4-S8-A1b: A player shall be in control when dribbling a live ball inbounds.

2024-25 NBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.

2025 WNBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.

2024-26 FIBA Rules: Believe me when I say that the FIBA Backcourt Rule is the same as the three/five rules codes but one has to tie multiple Sections together in order to come to the same conclusion. FIBA never (with apologies to J. Dallas Shirley) makes it easy.


It still is a Backcourt Violation!

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Mon Aug 25, 2025 at 05:23pm. Reason: Corrected which NCAA Women's Rules was used.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 25, 2025, 08:57am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,526
Perfectly Clear ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
It still is a Backcourt Violation!
Because of this?

NFHS 4-4-3: Ball Location: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.

NBA and WNBA make the interpretation perfectly clear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
2024-25 NBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.

2025 WNBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.
Why can't the NFHS?

Why do we need a special "note" for dribbler near a sideline or an endline, but not for a dribbler near the division line?

If NFHS 4-4-3 Ball Location is our "support" for a backcourt call, wouldn't NFHS 4-4-3 Ball Location also cover a dribbler near a sideline or an endline?

Then why even have a special "note"?

Let's keep it simple and assume that a "dribble" is not an interrupted dribble.

That's a whole different bag of worms in a can.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Aug 25, 2025 at 11:15am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 25, 2025, 06:20pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,174
Fun Facts!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
The Rule referenced in the heading [2024-25 NFHS R4-S12-A1] to my comment is:

"A player is in control of the ball the player is holding or dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble"

Furthermore:

2024-25 NCAA Men's Basketball R4-S9-A1b: A player shall be in control when dribbling a live ball inbounds.

2024-25 & 2025-26 NCAA Women's Basketball R4-S8-A1b: A player shall be in control when dribbling a live ball inbounds.

2024-25 NBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.

2025 WNBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.

2024-26 FIBA Rules: Believe me when I say that the FIBA Backcourt Rule is the same as the three/five rules codes but one has to tie multiple Sections together in order to come to the same conclusion. FIBA never (with apologies to J. Dallas Shirley) makes it easy.


It still is a Backcourt Violation!

MTD, Sr.

Word "ball" occurs in the:

2024-25 NFHS Basketball: 483 times

2024-25 NCAA Men's Basketball: 689 times

2024-25 & 2025-26 NCAA Women's Basketball: 664 times

2024-25 NBA: 645 times

2025 WNBA: 647 times

2024-26 FIBA: 480 times


Word "location" occurs in the:

2024-25 NFHS Basketball: 18 times

2024-25 NCAA Men's Basketball: 9 times

2024-25 & 2025-26 NCAA Women's Basketball: 13 times

2024-25 NBA: 2 times

2025 WNBA: 2 times

2024-26 FIBA: 9 times


I will now confine my remarks to the NFHS Rules:

Ball LocationR4-S4:

A1: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

A2: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

A3: A ball which is in flight retains the same location/status as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.

A4: A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's location/status.


Player LocationR4-S35:

A1: The location/status of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the person is touching the floor as far as being:
a. Inbounds or out-of-bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt.
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line.

A2: When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds or inside the three-point line, respectively.

A3: The location/status of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.

It appears that everything in the NFHS Rules points the my conclusion that A1 committed a Backcourt Violation.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 26, 2025, 09:29am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,526
Contact ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Ball Location R4-S4: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player ... is touching the backcourt.
I appreciate the attempt to get my head straight regarding this situation, but I don't believe that this "word salad" (above) matches my situation.

While the player was indeed in the backcourt, he was not in contact with the ball while doing so.

Thus, the best support that I can find for a backcourt violation is ...

NFHS 4-4-3: Ball Location: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.

... and this reference only works if one believes that a ball "between" dribbles is in "flight".

It's easy to believe that a try is a ball in "flight", or that pass is a ball in "flight", but a ball between dribbles is a tough sell.

Why can't the NFHS be like the NBA and WNBA and make this interpterion "perfect in every way"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
2024-25 NBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.

2025 WNBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.
Instead, we have to "pin ball" back and forth between different "word salad" sections of the rule book.

The NFHS needs to "reconcile" and/or cleanup 9-3-1-Note and/or 4-9-1:

9-3-1-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.

4-9-1: Boundary lines of the court consist of end lines and sidelines.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Aug 26, 2025 at 09:46am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fun With The Division Line … BillyMac Basketball 15 Wed Sep 22, 2021 05:07pm
Fun With The Division Line ... BillyMac Basketball 76 Sat Aug 14, 2021 01:17pm
Fun With The Division Line ... BillyMac Basketball 14 Wed Dec 30, 2020 10:18am
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? NoFussRef Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm
Division line phansen Basketball 4 Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1