View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Today, 06:20pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,147
Fun Facts!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
The Rule referenced in the heading [2024-25 NFHS R4-S12-A1] to my comment is:

"A player is in control of the ball the player is holding or dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble"

Furthermore:

2024-25 NCAA Men's Basketball R4-S9-A1b: A player shall be in control when dribbling a live ball inbounds.

2024-25 & 2025-26 NCAA Women's Basketball R4-S8-A1b: A player shall be in control when dribbling a live ball inbounds.

2024-25 NBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.

2025 WNBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.

2024-26 FIBA Rules: Believe me when I say that the FIBA Backcourt Rule is the same as the three/five rules codes but one has to tie multiple Sections together in order to come to the same conclusion. FIBA never (with apologies to J. Dallas Shirley) makes it easy.


It still is a Backcourt Violation!

MTD, Sr.

Word "ball" occurs in the:

2024-25 NFHS Basketball: 483 times

2024-25 NCAA Men's Basketball: 689 times

2024-25 & 2025-26 NCAA Women's Basketball: 664 times

2024-25 NBA: 645 times

2025 WNBA: 647 times

2024-26 FIBA: 480 times


Word "location" occurs in the:

2024-25 NFHS Basketball: 18 times

2024-25 NCAA Men's Basketball: 9 times

2024-25 & 2025-26 NCAA Women's Basketball: 13 times

2024-25 NBA: 2 times

2025 WNBA: 2 times

2024-26 FIBA: 9 times


I will now confine my remarks to the NFHS Rules:

Ball LocationR4-S4:

A1: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

A2: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

A3: A ball which is in flight retains the same location/status as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.

A4: A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's location/status.


Player LocationR4-S35:

A1: The location/status of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the person is touching the floor as far as being:
a. Inbounds or out-of-bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt.
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line.

A2: When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds or inside the three-point line, respectively.

A3: The location/status of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.

It appears that everything in the NFHS Rules points the my conclusion that A1 committed a Backcourt Violation.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote