View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Today, 11:08am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,410
Note ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
... it's hard to watch two things at the same time ... Is the dribbler touching the ball at the same time as they're standing on the line? The NOTE removes that judgement issue.
But the note only applies to boundary lines, not to the division line (which, by definition, is not a boundary line).

We need a casebook play, or at least an annual interpretation, to clarify.

If we call this a backcourt violation, the only support we have is purpose and intent.

On the other hand, we may not actually need any support because coaches are most likely ignorant regarding the definition of a boundary and/or the actual rule language of the note.

Only way this rare and possibly incorrect backcourt call attracts any attention is if it's the last call in a one point state championship game.

Would probably attract more attention if we don't call it, but we would have the support of the actual rule language and would not have to rely on purpose and intent.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Today at 11:14am.
Reply With Quote