Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Ball Location R4-S4: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player ... is touching the backcourt.
|
I appreciate the attempt to get my head straight regarding this situation, but I don't believe that this "word salad" (above) matches my situation.
While the player was indeed in the backcourt, he was not in contact with the ball while doing so.
Thus, the best support that I can find for a backcourt violation is ...
NFHS 4-4-3: Ball Location: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.
... and this reference only works if one believes that a ball "between" dribbles is in "flight".
It's easy to believe that a try is a ball in "flight", or that pass is a ball in "flight", but a ball between dribbles is a tough sell.
Why can't the NFHS be like the NBA and WNBA and make this interpterion "perfect in every way"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
2024-25 NBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.
2025 WNBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.
|
Instead, we have to "pin ball" back and forth between different "word salad" sections of the rule book.
The NFHS needs to "reconcile" and/or cleanup 9-3-1-Note and/or 4-9-1:
9-3-1-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
4-9-1: Boundary lines of the court consist of end lines and sidelines.