View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Today, 03:16pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Carve Out Note ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Was A1 in player control when he touched the division line and touched the ball?
A1 never touched the division line and the ball at the same time.

Backcourt 9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

The ball never went into the backcourt.

The NFHS "carves out" a special note for a player, in player control, dribbling the ball, who touches a boundary line while his hand is not in contact with the ball as an out of bounds violation.

(An interpretation that does not include an interrupted dribble.)

The "carve out" note is necessary because the rules without the "carve out" note would imply that this is not an out of bonds violation, with said player never touching the boundary line and the ball at the same time.

Does the "carve out" note also apply to a possible backcourt violation, even though the division line is not defined as a boundary?

I'm possibly willing to call this a backcourt violation by purpose and intent, even though the actual rule language doesn't seem to support such a violation call.

But purpose and intent can often be so subjective.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Today at 03:30pm.
Reply With Quote