![]() |
|
|
|||
Fun With The Division Line
IAABO Make The Call Video
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...u55cSeVA%3D%3D Is this a backcourt violation? The ball handler steps into the frontcourt and then dribbles the ball in the backcourt. Should a violation have been ruled? Two choices: This is a backcourt violation. This is not a backcourt violation. My comment: This is not a backcourt violation. A ball which is in contact with a player is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player the backcourt. When White #3 lifts the foot which is in the frontcourt and places it down in the backcourt, the location of the ball has not changed. The ball is still in the backcourt and no violation has occurred.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
No, he never gains FC status. He is not in the FC until all his body or he is dribbling the ball goes completely to the FC.
This was not even hard. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael Mick Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Right Answer, Wrong Reason ...
Early returns from IAABO members are favoring no backcourt violation, but for the wrong reason, with some members referring to both feet and the ball needing to be in the front court to establish front court status which is only for dribbling situations, which this is not. This is a ball location (stepping) situation based on the lifting of feet, the actual "location" of the ball (touching the court) doesn't come into play here. It would be a different call (illegal backcourt) is the "backcourt" foot was lifted and put back on the floor, even if the ball never touched the court.
4.4.1 SITUATION: As Team A is advancing the ball from its backcourt toward its frontcourt, A1 passes the ball to A2. A2 catches the ball while both feet are on the floor – with one foot on either side of the division line. In this situation, either foot may be the pivot foot. (a) A2 lifts the foot which is in the backcourt and then puts it back on the floor in the backcourt; or (b) A2 lifts the foot which is in the frontcourt, pivots and puts it on the floor in the backcourt. RULING: In (a), it is a -backcourt violation. When A2, while holding the ball, lifts the foot which was in the backcourt, the ball is now in the frontcourt. When A2’s foot then touches in the backcourt, it is a violation. In (b), when A2 lifts the foot which is in the frontcourt and places it down in the backcourt, the location of the ball has not changed. The ball is still in the backcourt and no violation has occurred. (4-35-2)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Sep 22, 2021 at 11:56am. |
|
|||
Rather basic play. Maybe IAABO members need to spend some time in these forums.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Sep 22, 2021 at 10:20am. |
|
|||
Dribbling Across The Division Line ...
Confusing dribbling across the division line (three points) with stepping across the division line (player location) is a common, but unacceptable mistake.
We often saw it here on the Forum back in the good old days when the Forum was busy. When trainers teach the three points dribbling across the division line rule, they should really stress that this absolutely only applies to a dribbler, and no other situations, like stepping across the division line.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Sep 22, 2021 at 11:46am. |
|
|||
This might be semantics, but it is actually 2 feet and the ball, it just when you hold the ball you have not crossed the division line. I get it, but I would not worry about that as much because as long as they know that once the other foot crosses, you cannot dribble into the backcourt.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael Mick Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Stepping Across The Division Line ...
Quote:
Only two ways for an individual player on his own (with no help from teammates (as with a pass)) to get ball across the division line, dribbling and stepping (while holding the ball). Only dribbling involves two feet and the ball. Stepping (while holding the ball (not dribbling)) involves the lifting of a foot, and then putting said foot back on the floor, and a backcourt call, or no call, depends on where (backcourt or frontcourt) the foot was lifted and put back the floor. Here's an example of holding the ball and crossing the division line, without a dribble, and thus without the ball touching the floor, leading to a backcourt call. 4.4.1 SITUATION: As Team A is advancing the ball from its backcourt toward its frontcourt, A1 passes the ball to A2. A2 catches the ball while both feet are on the floor – with one foot on either side of the division line. In this situation, either foot may be the pivot foot. (a) A2 lifts the foot which is in the backcourt and then puts it back on the floor in the backcourt; RULING: In (a), it is a -backcourt violation. When A2, while holding the ball, lifts the foot which was in the backcourt, the ball is now in the frontcourt. When A2’s foot then touches in the backcourt, it is a violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Sep 22, 2021 at 11:53am. |
|
|||
The good news is that IABBO must be getting lots of new officials. Unless you're so new that you've never done a sanctioned game, you shouldn't miss this one.
|
|
|||
Both Feet And The Ball ???
Most didn't, good no calls, but for the wrong reasons.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Edvard Munch On The Forum ...
Good news. Just read a response that stated that this was not a dribbling situation and thus should not involve both feet and the ball.
Bad news. Same response stated that it was a backcourt violation because both the player (with no reference to feet) and the ball broke the "plane of the division line" giving the ball frontcourt status before going back into the backcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Sep 22, 2021 at 01:24pm. |
|
|||
You have too much time on your hand. Of course there will be people that do not know the specifics of the rule. Welcome to social media.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael Mick Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fun With The Division Line ... | BillyMac | Basketball | 76 | Sat Aug 14, 2021 01:17pm |
Fun With The Division Line ... | BillyMac | Basketball | 18 | Sun Feb 28, 2021 11:21am |
Fun With The Division Line ... | BillyMac | Basketball | 14 | Wed Dec 30, 2020 10:18am |
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? | NoFussRef | Basketball | 16 | Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm |
Division line | phansen | Basketball | 4 | Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:05pm |