View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Today, 08:57am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,413
Perfectly Clear ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
It still is a Backcourt Violation!
Because of this?

NFHS 4-4-3: Ball Location: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court.

NBA and WNBA make the interpretation perfectly clear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
2024-25 NBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.

2025 WNBA Rules Rule 4, Section VI.d(2): A ball being dribbled is in the backcourt if the ball or either foot of the player in in the backcourt.
Why can't the NFHS?

Why do we need a special "note" for dribbler near a sideline or an endline, but not for a dribbler near the division line?

If NFHS 4-4-3 Ball Location is our "support" for a backcourt call, wouldn't NFHS 4-4-3 Ball Location also cover a dribbler near a sideline or an endline?

Then why even have a special "note"?

Let's keep it simple and assume that a "dribble" is not an interrupted dribble.

That's a whole different bag of worms in a can.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Today at 11:15am.
Reply With Quote