The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
NFHS 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.



"Continuous control".



NFHS 4-12: CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM

ART. 1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -

dribbling a live ball.
There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a

jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,

or during an interrupted dribble.

ART. 2 A team is in control of the ball:

a. When a player of the team is in control.

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

c. During an interrupted dribble.


d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

ART. 3 Team control continues until:

a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

b. An opponent secures control.

c. The ball becomes dead.

ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in

control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap

for goal.




Situation 10 is not the same as the original post but the language is quite clear, "continuous control".



2017-18 Interpretations

SITUATION 10: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2, 9-8)


Maybe my original reply was poorly worded but I think we are on the same page here. The count begins when B2 touches the ball in this example.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw In NFHS game Stripes33 Basketball 19 Thu Dec 07, 2017 02:09pm
NFHS throw in question UNIgiantslayers Basketball 9 Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:50am
New NFHS Free Throw Rule. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 60 Fri Sep 19, 2014 09:42am
Free Throw Question (NFHS) Raymond Basketball 10 Wed Oct 30, 2013 06:08am
AP throw-in (yes again) / NFHS vs NCAA eyezen Basketball 6 Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1