The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
NFHS 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.



"Continuous control".



NFHS 4-12: CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM

ART. 1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -

dribbling a live ball.
There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a

jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,

or during an interrupted dribble.

ART. 2 A team is in control of the ball:

a. When a player of the team is in control.

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.

c. During an interrupted dribble.


d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

ART. 3 Team control continues until:

a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

b. An opponent secures control.

c. The ball becomes dead.

ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in

control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap

for goal.




Situation 10 is not the same as the original post but the language is quite clear, "continuous control".



2017-18 Interpretations

SITUATION 10: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2, 9-8)


Maybe my original reply was poorly worded but I think we are on the same page here. The count begins when B2 touches the ball in this example.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 03:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Is There Team Control On A Throwin ???

It depends.

Basketball Points of Emphasis - 2017-18
2. Team control, throw-in. The relevance of team control during a throw-in only applies when a member of the throw- in team fouls. Such fouls shall be ruled team control fouls. Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
It depends.



Basketball Points of Emphasis - 2017-18

2. Team control, throw-in. The relevance of team control during a throw-in only applies when a member of the throw- in team fouls. Such fouls shall be ruled team control fouls. Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds.


This also doesn’t make sense. other than a field goal or free throw attempt There is NEVER a live ball situation where team control does not exist. If what you’re saying is true, that would mean if team B commits a foul while the ball is sitting there in the back court and team A were in the bonus, we would shoot free throws, which is NOT the case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 04:59pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Player Control Is Obtained Inbounds ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwodar View Post
... that would mean if team B commits a foul while the ball is sitting there in the back court and team A were in the bonus, we would shoot free throws, which is NOT the case.
Since the "team control foul" period on a throwin ends when player control is obtained inbounds, and since player control had not been established inbounds, then there would be no free throws.

4-19-7: A team-control foul is a common foul committed by a member
of the team that has team control or by a member of the throw-in team from
the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 05:03pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Team Control Foul ...

4.19.7 SITUATION D: A1 has the ball for a throw in. The throw-in pass deflects off of A2. As A2 and B2 are attempting to retrieve the loose throw-in pass, A2 illegally pushes B2 from behind and is called for a foul. Team B is in the bonus. RULING: Team A is in control during this throw in, therefore a team-control foul has been committed. B2 is awarded a throw in at a spot closest to where the foul occurred. (4-12-6)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Since the "team control foul" period on a throwin ends when player control is obtained inbounds, and since player control had not been established inbounds, then there would be no free throws.



4-19-7: A team-control foul is a common foul committed by a member

of the team that has team control or by a member of the throw-in team from

the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds.


Regardless of the explanation of why this is a team control foul your initial statement about not starting the 10second count until player control is obtained is incorrect.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 06:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
[QUOTE=rwodar;1035010]Regardless of the explanation of why this is a team control foul your initial statement about not starting the 10second count until player control is obtained is incorrect.

It is not incorrect. The Case Play that was cited 4.12.2b specifically tell us on a deflected throw in pass there can be no 3 second violation, no over/back violation and a 10 count cannot be started until the player gains control. Again, team control on throw in plays only applies to fouls committed by the throw in team. Please give us a specific citation from the RB, CB or Officials Manual that says the official should start the count when the throw in pass is touched/deflected.

Last edited by billyu2; Thu Oct 24, 2019 at 06:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 25
[QUOTE=billyu2;1035011]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwodar View Post
Regardless of the explanation of why this is a team control foul your initial statement about not starting the 10second count until player control is obtained is incorrect.

It is not incorrect. The Case Play that was cited 4.12.2b specifically tell us on a deflected throw in pass there can be no 3 second violation, no over/back violation and a 10 count cannot be started until the player gains control. Again, team control on throw in plays only applies to fouls committed by the throw in team. Please give us a specific citation from the RB, CB or Officials Manual that says the official should start the count when the throw in pass is touched/deflected.


4.12.2b doesn’t quite make sense to me... in the situation they say team a is inbounding in the backcourt but then also say that the ball “crosses the division line” implying when A3 gains control it would be in the from court...THEN in the ruling they say “the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control in the backcourt..? The ruling contradicts the situation.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 06:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Reading Is Fundamental ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwodar View Post
Regardless of the explanation of why this is a team control foul your initial statement about not starting the 10second count until player control is obtained is incorrect.
Basketball Points of Emphasis - 2017-18
2. Team control, throw-in ...Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds.


NFHS 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

NFHS 4-12: CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM
ART. 1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -
dribbling a live ball.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Oct 24, 2019 at 06:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Just to add another voice to the many correct once, since someone doesn't want to believe it...

* Team control for fouls begins when the thrower has the ball.

* Team control for ALL other purposes begins when a player inbounds established layer control.

Both forms of team control end in the same way: dead ball, other team gains control, or a try is released.

This rule really needs to be rewritten. I may take that challenge on now.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 26, 2019, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwodar View Post
This also doesn’t make sense. other than a field goal or free throw attempt There is NEVER a live ball situation where team control does not exist ...
The jump ball before a player gains control.

Apologies if anyone addressed this aspect of his claims already, but I didn't see it in the thread.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 03:38pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Holds Or Dribbles A Live Ball Inbounds ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwodar View Post
The count begins when B2 touches the ball in this example.
No it doesn't.

The ten second count begins when a player holds or dribbles a live ball inbounds.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
I am having fun NOW

To add onto the original play.... The possession arrow is pointing towards Team A. The Trail Official sounds his/her whistle. Signals 10 second/Back court violation.
Now what do you do? Team B never established Team Control. Inadvertent Whistle from Trail Official.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
No it doesn't.



The ten second count begins when a player holds or dribbles a live ball inbounds.

...If team A isn’t pressing team b can just touch the ball in bounds and sit in the backcourt as long as they’d like?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2019, 04:49pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Eight Minutes ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwodar View Post
...If team A isn’t pressing team b can just touch the ball in bounds and sit in the backcourt as long as they’d like?
Only until the end of the period buzzer sounds.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw In NFHS game Stripes33 Basketball 19 Thu Dec 07, 2017 02:09pm
NFHS throw in question UNIgiantslayers Basketball 9 Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:50am
New NFHS Free Throw Rule. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 60 Fri Sep 19, 2014 09:42am
Free Throw Question (NFHS) Raymond Basketball 10 Wed Oct 30, 2013 06:08am
AP throw-in (yes again) / NFHS vs NCAA eyezen Basketball 6 Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1