![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Regardless of the explanation of why this is a team control foul your initial statement about not starting the 10second count until player control is obtained is incorrect. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
[QUOTE=rwodar;1035010]Regardless of the explanation of why this is a team control foul your initial statement about not starting the 10second count until player control is obtained is incorrect.
It is not incorrect. The Case Play that was cited 4.12.2b specifically tell us on a deflected throw in pass there can be no 3 second violation, no over/back violation and a 10 count cannot be started until the player gains control. Again, team control on throw in plays only applies to fouls committed by the throw in team. Please give us a specific citation from the RB, CB or Officials Manual that says the official should start the count when the throw in pass is touched/deflected. Last edited by billyu2; Thu Oct 24, 2019 at 06:57pm. |
|
|||
[QUOTE=billyu2;1035011]
Quote:
4.12.2b doesn’t quite make sense to me... in the situation they say team a is inbounding in the backcourt but then also say that the ball “crosses the division line” implying when A3 gains control it would be in the from court...THEN in the ruling they say “the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control in the backcourt..? The ruling contradicts the situation. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
[QUOTE=rwodar;1035013]
Quote:
Last edited by billyu2; Thu Oct 24, 2019 at 08:07pm. |
|
|||
Reading Is Fundamental ...
Quote:
2. Team control, throw-in ...Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds. NFHS 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds. NFHS 4-12: CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM ART. 1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or - dribbling a live ball.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Oct 24, 2019 at 06:54pm. |
|
|||
Just to add another voice to the many correct once, since someone doesn't want to believe it...
* Team control for fouls begins when the thrower has the ball. * Team control for ALL other purposes begins when a player inbounds established layer control. Both forms of team control end in the same way: dead ball, other team gains control, or a try is released. This rule really needs to be rewritten. I may take that challenge on now.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Scary Stories To The Young'uns ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Oct 25, 2019 at 09:58am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw In NFHS game | Stripes33 | Basketball | 19 | Thu Dec 07, 2017 02:09pm |
NFHS throw in question | UNIgiantslayers | Basketball | 9 | Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:50am |
New NFHS Free Throw Rule. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 60 | Fri Sep 19, 2014 09:42am |
Free Throw Question (NFHS) | Raymond | Basketball | 10 | Wed Oct 30, 2013 06:08am |
AP throw-in (yes again) / NFHS vs NCAA | eyezen | Basketball | 6 | Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:31pm |