The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
basketball inbounds?

Inbounding player holds ball with 2 hands over the baseline. Defender grabs ball out of his hands. Is that a technical foul?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 171
Ball is inbounds at that point. You have a held ball.

If it was an AP throw in, the arrows stays with the inbounding team.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfan1981 View Post
Ball is inbounds at that point. You have a held ball.

If it was an AP throw in, the arrows stays with the inbounding team.
Agreed. If the defender had to reach through the plane, it would be a technical. That's one of those rules that has never made sense to me. If you reach over and swipe at the ball, it is called an intentional foul, yet if you actually contact the ball, it is a worse penalty, a tech.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 120
Not a held ball, now it is the defender's ball, play on.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:37am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
Agreed. If the defender had to reach through the plane, it would be a technical. That's one of those rules that has never made sense to me. If you reach over and swipe at the ball, it is called an intentional foul, yet if you actually contact the ball, it is a worse penalty, a tech.
If you make contact with the thrower-in, it's an Intentional Personal Foul. If you contact the ball outside the boundary line, it's a Technical Foul.

Difference in the adjudication is that live ball contact is a personal foul. Can't have a personal foul for contacting the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfan1981 View Post
Ball is inbounds at that point. You have a held ball.

If it was an AP throw in, the arrows stays with the inbounding team.
Holding the ball across the line does not make the ball inbounds....just clarifying, perhaps what you meant.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 12:31pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,417
A1 holds the ball over the baseline and B1 slaps the ball out of his hand and then grabs it.

1. Legal
2. Throw in ends, and the arrow now belongs to Team B. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
A1 holds the ball over the baseline and B1 slaps the ball out of his hand and then grabs it.

1. Legal
2. Throw in ends, and the arrow now belongs to Team B. Right?
Yes, if the original throw-in was an AP throw-in.

Just how tall is A1 if s/he can hold the ball over the baseline? (Note: This is NOT an invitation for BillyManc to post a picture of stretch armstrong or Inspector Gadget)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 644
What does over the line mean in terms of defenders being able to touch the ball being held by the thrower? Is it where the hand/ball contact takes place that matters? Just curious.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
What does over the line mean in terms of defenders being able to touch the ball being held by the thrower? Is it where the hand/ball contact takes place that matters? Just curious.
If the contact takes place on the inbounds side of the boundary plane, it's legal; if the contact is on the out-of-bounds side of the plane, it's illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
What does over the line mean in terms of defenders being able to touch the ball being held by the thrower? Is it where the hand/ball contact takes place that matters? Just curious.
Case Play 7.6.4A "...A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line..."

I interpret this to mean that ALL of the ball must over the in-bounds area of the court, for it to be legally touched by a defender.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
Not a held ball, now it is the defender's ball, play on.
If the inbound puts the ball through the plane and its tied up by the inbounder defender...what happens Chuck?
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
If the inbound puts the ball through the plane and its tied up by the inbounder defender...what happens Chuck?
Then it's a held ball, with Team A retaining the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
Case Play 7.6.4A "...A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line..."

I interpret this to mean that ALL of the ball must over the in-bounds area of the court, for it to be legally touched by a defender.
Don't read it that way. That is a "case" of what could be legal. It doesn't intend to say the entire ball must be over the line.

The defender can't reach through the line, that's it. If they hit/touch the ball without doing so, it is legal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 06:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
A1 holds the ball over the baseline and B1 slaps the ball out of his hand and then grabs it.

1. Legal
2. Throw in ends, and the arrow now belongs to Team B. Right?
In the smack and grab situation described here, at what point exactly would the throw in end? When B1 possesses the ball? When B1 knocks it loose? As soon as B1 is in contact with the ball and A1 isn't?

I assume it's that last option.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbounds nero21 Basketball 23 Mon Mar 07, 2011 07:43am
Inbounds boss21 Basketball 7 Fri Jan 08, 2010 01:19pm
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? BoBo Football 3 Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am
inbounds pwarburt Basketball 8 Tue Jun 06, 2000 01:37pm
inbounds kent wilson Basketball 8 Fri Apr 07, 2000 03:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1