The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2000, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4
Post

Player A is out of bounds. Player A bounces ball out of bounds or on the line before player B touches the ball. Is this a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2000, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 962
Send a message via AIM to Tim Roden
Post

B's ball. Yes, this is a violation.

[This message has been edited by Tim Roden (edited April 06, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2000, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 306
Post

Kent, is A the thrower-in?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2000, 07:03pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

quote:
Originally posted by kent wilson:
Player A is out of bounds. Player A bounces ball out of bounds or on the line before player B touches the ball. Is this a violation?


Assuming player A is the inbounder (I refuse to use the NF term "thrower-in", every time I hear it I want to "thrower-up"), it is not a violation for him to bounce the ball OOB (or on the line, since the line is OOB) unless he has released the ball towards the court for his inbound pass and the pass hits OOB. Of course, the five second count is going during his bouncing.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2000, 12:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,051
Post

Like any other inbounds, they can step on but not over the line.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2000, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 306
Post

Well said Mark! Thrower-in = Thrower-up! I love it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2000, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 193
Post

Here's a question - what about the position of his foot(feet)? Can foot be on line or partially over line before releasing ball? When is it a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2000, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 193
Post

Brian -

So if any part of the foot is inbounds(half may be in/half OOB) it is a violation. Correct? I've seen this call missed quite often.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2000, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,051
Post

The line is OOB, so it is OK to touch the line(you're still "established" out of bounds).
But, once your foot touches the court, you have "established" yourself inbounds... violation.

You just have to think in reverse of when the ball is in play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1