The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   basketball inbounds? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103452-basketball-inbounds.html)

jjjj Thu Feb 01, 2018 10:10am

basketball inbounds?
 
Inbounding player holds ball with 2 hands over the baseline. Defender grabs ball out of his hands. Is that a technical foul?

pfan1981 Thu Feb 01, 2018 10:17am

Ball is inbounds at that point. You have a held ball.

If it was an AP throw in, the arrows stays with the inbounding team.

frezer11 Thu Feb 01, 2018 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by pfan1981 (Post 1016061)
Ball is inbounds at that point. You have a held ball.

If it was an AP throw in, the arrows stays with the inbounding team.

Agreed. If the defender had to reach through the plane, it would be a technical. That's one of those rules that has never made sense to me. If you reach over and swipe at the ball, it is called an intentional foul, yet if you actually contact the ball, it is a worse penalty, a tech.

ChuckS Thu Feb 01, 2018 10:31am

Not a held ball, now it is the defender's ball, play on.

Raymond Thu Feb 01, 2018 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 1016068)
Agreed. If the defender had to reach through the plane, it would be a technical. That's one of those rules that has never made sense to me. If you reach over and swipe at the ball, it is called an intentional foul, yet if you actually contact the ball, it is a worse penalty, a tech.

If you make contact with the thrower-in, it's an Intentional Personal Foul. If you contact the ball outside the boundary line, it's a Technical Foul.

Difference in the adjudication is that live ball contact is a personal foul. Can't have a personal foul for contacting the ball.

bucky Thu Feb 01, 2018 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by pfan1981 (Post 1016061)
Ball is inbounds at that point. You have a held ball.

If it was an AP throw in, the arrows stays with the inbounding team.

Holding the ball across the line does not make the ball inbounds....just clarifying, perhaps what you meant.

BryanV21 Thu Feb 01, 2018 12:31pm

A1 holds the ball over the baseline and B1 slaps the ball out of his hand and then grabs it.

1. Legal
2. Throw in ends, and the arrow now belongs to Team B. Right?

bob jenkins Thu Feb 01, 2018 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1016103)
A1 holds the ball over the baseline and B1 slaps the ball out of his hand and then grabs it.

1. Legal
2. Throw in ends, and the arrow now belongs to Team B. Right?

Yes, if the original throw-in was an AP throw-in.

Just how tall is A1 if s/he can hold the ball over the baseline? ;) (Note: This is NOT an invitation for BillyManc to post a picture of stretch armstrong or Inspector Gadget)

so cal lurker Thu Feb 01, 2018 01:48pm

What does over the line mean in terms of defenders being able to touch the ball being held by the thrower? Is it where the hand/ball contact takes place that matters? Just curious.

bob jenkins Thu Feb 01, 2018 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 1016119)
What does over the line mean in terms of defenders being able to touch the ball being held by the thrower? Is it where the hand/ball contact takes place that matters? Just curious.

If the contact takes place on the inbounds side of the boundary plane, it's legal; if the contact is on the out-of-bounds side of the plane, it's illegal.

ChuckS Thu Feb 01, 2018 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 1016119)
What does over the line mean in terms of defenders being able to touch the ball being held by the thrower? Is it where the hand/ball contact takes place that matters? Just curious.

Case Play 7.6.4A "...A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line..."

I interpret this to mean that ALL of the ball must over the in-bounds area of the court, for it to be legally touched by a defender.

BigT Thu Feb 01, 2018 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckS (Post 1016071)
Not a held ball, now it is the defender's ball, play on.

If the inbound puts the ball through the plane and its tied up by the inbounder defender...what happens Chuck?

ChuckS Thu Feb 01, 2018 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 1016122)
If the inbound puts the ball through the plane and its tied up by the inbounder defender...what happens Chuck?

Then it's a held ball, with Team A retaining the arrow.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 01, 2018 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckS (Post 1016121)
Case Play 7.6.4A "...A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line..."

I interpret this to mean that ALL of the ball must over the in-bounds area of the court, for it to be legally touched by a defender.

Don't read it that way. That is a "case" of what could be legal. It doesn't intend to say the entire ball must be over the line.

The defender can't reach through the line, that's it. If they hit/touch the ball without doing so, it is legal.

shutupneff Thu Feb 01, 2018 06:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1016103)
A1 holds the ball over the baseline and B1 slaps the ball out of his hand and then grabs it.

1. Legal
2. Throw in ends, and the arrow now belongs to Team B. Right?

In the smack and grab situation described here, at what point exactly would the throw in end? When B1 possesses the ball? When B1 knocks it loose? As soon as B1 is in contact with the ball and A1 isn't?

I assume it's that last option.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1