The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:18am
Official Forum Member

Sub to shoot Technical Foul free throws

Hi Guys, obligatory I'm a coach not an official and I appreciate all that you guys do. I can not find my rulebook this morning so just want to come to the source. High School boys, player on opposing team receives a tech late in the game last night. I go to sub my best free throw shooter to shoot the free throws and official says I have to choose from someone who was on the floor at the time. It worked out great actually and one of my kids who rarely scores got to shoot them but am I just so tired that I'm totally wrong on this? Can't anyone on the bench or floor shoot those free throws?

Thanks for what you guys do and I apologize for myself and my fellow coaches, you guys do great things for kids.
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:26am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by BDevil15 View Post
Hi Guys, obligatory I'm a coach not an official and I appreciate all that you guys do. I can not find my rulebook this morning so just want to come to the source. High School boys, player on opposing team receives a tech late in the game last night. I go to sub my best free throw shooter to shoot the free throws and official says I have to choose from someone who was on the floor at the time. It worked out great actually and one of my kids who rarely scores got to shoot them but am I just so tired that I'm totally wrong on this? Can't anyone on the bench or floor shoot those free throws?

Thanks for what you guys do and I apologize for myself and my fellow coaches, you guys do great things for kids.
You were right. Anyone can sub in to shoot a Tech FT, unless you had just subbed that player out, as they must sit until the clock legally starts before they are allowed back in.
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:29am
Courageous When Prudent

Anybody can shoot. See Rule 8, Section 3.