The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Inbounds

High school game - With timeout following a basket, a player runs the baseline but takes a nonchalantly dribbles once then passes it to a player who hits a halfcourt shot to win the game. I say this is illegal, since the player dribbles the ball rather than in bounding it directly. Am I correct?

Here it is:
http://www.facebook.com/video/video....73470&comments

Last edited by nero21; Sat Mar 05, 2011 at 01:43pm. Reason: added video
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 01:44pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
You are incorrect. It is perfectly legal to "dribble" the ball during a throw-in. Also, it matters not if it's a designated or undesignated throw-in.

The play that you posted is perfectly legal. The only thing that came even close to being a violation was the thrower stepping inbounds, and that wasn't even that close.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Sat Mar 05, 2011 at 01:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
OK, was unsure of this...

especially when player can run the baseline. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Could a player in this situation bounce pass it to a teammate to inbound, since they would be able to pass the ball across the baseline to another out of bounds player to inbound?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 01:53pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by nero21 View Post
Could a player in this situation bounce pass it to a teammate to inbound, since they would be able to pass the ball across the baseline to another out of bounds player to inbound?
No. That would be a throw-in violation for failing to throw the ball directly inbounds. They would be able to bounce pass to another teammate whom is also out of bounds on the endline during an undesignated spot throw-in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
That is what I meant, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
It was a great ending, but a parent of the opposing team was arrested for confronting an official after the game. I don't know if it was about this play in particular or the entire game. Pretty sad though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 02:08pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by nero21 View Post
It was a great ending, but a parent of the opposing team was arrested for confronting an official after the game. I don't know if it was about this play in particular or the entire game. Pretty sad though.
Unfortunately this is all too common these days. I'm glad that someone (official and/or game management) took care of business and had the parent taken care of.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 02:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,716
From The Files Of The Mythbusters ...

A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. A player inbounding the ball may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. After a goal, or awarded goal, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from any point outside the end line. A team retains this “run the endline” privilege if a timeout is called during the dead ball period after the goal. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary line.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kansas
Posts: 155
Bounce pass is legal to team mate on a run the endline type play. The rule book says you can pass. Read Billy Mac post. It does not limit the type of pass. Therefore, it is not prohibited so it is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 08:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
For the record, he could dribble and do the two-step even if it was a spot throw-in; so long as he didn't leave the designated three-foot spot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,460
9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area
before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the
out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.

9.2.2 SITUATION A: Thrower A1: (a) causes the ball to carom from the wall
behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; (b) caroms
the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or (c) throws
the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds
into the hands of A2. RULING: Violation in (a) and (b), since the throw touched
an object out of bounds. The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of
the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same
as the floor inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,040
The player can't dribble the ball. A dribble can only be performed by a player in control, and there's no PC or TC during an inbounds pass.

The player can bounce the ball.

Knowing that makes the answer to the OP easy.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 06, 2011, 11:38am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,716
When On The Official Forum, Use NFHS Definitions ...

NFHS: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats
(intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once
or several times. Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball,
throw-in, a jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

Webster: To move a ball by repeated light bounces or kicks, as in
basketball or soccer.

It would be nice if the NFHS used their own definitions. How can A1 be dribbling in this case play?

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area
before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the
out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Mar 06, 2011 at 12:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 06, 2011, 11:46am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,282
PreGame This!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area
before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the
out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.
This is something to pregame for sure. A cunning coach would be good to tell his player to start dribbling while out of bounds, with the likely result that the defense will be shocked into inactivity over the strangeness of it and the coach will be yelling "Travelling!!!" or some such drivel. And you don't want to be on the crew whose one member doesn't knows its legality and blows it dead.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbounds boss21 Basketball 7 Fri Jan 08, 2010 01:19pm
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? BoBo Football 3 Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am
inbounds hoopsrefBC Basketball 4 Sun Oct 01, 2000 01:05pm
inbounds pwarburt Basketball 8 Tue Jun 06, 2000 01:37pm
inbounds kent wilson Basketball 8 Fri Apr 07, 2000 03:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1