The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 12:31pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
A1 holds the ball over the baseline and B1 slaps the ball out of his hand and then grabs it.

1. Legal
2. Throw in ends, and the arrow now belongs to Team B. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
A1 holds the ball over the baseline and B1 slaps the ball out of his hand and then grabs it.

1. Legal
2. Throw in ends, and the arrow now belongs to Team B. Right?
Yes, if the original throw-in was an AP throw-in.

Just how tall is A1 if s/he can hold the ball over the baseline? (Note: This is NOT an invitation for BillyManc to post a picture of stretch armstrong or Inspector Gadget)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
What does over the line mean in terms of defenders being able to touch the ball being held by the thrower? Is it where the hand/ball contact takes place that matters? Just curious.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
What does over the line mean in terms of defenders being able to touch the ball being held by the thrower? Is it where the hand/ball contact takes place that matters? Just curious.
If the contact takes place on the inbounds side of the boundary plane, it's legal; if the contact is on the out-of-bounds side of the plane, it's illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
What does over the line mean in terms of defenders being able to touch the ball being held by the thrower? Is it where the hand/ball contact takes place that matters? Just curious.
Case Play 7.6.4A "...A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line..."

I interpret this to mean that ALL of the ball must over the in-bounds area of the court, for it to be legally touched by a defender.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
Case Play 7.6.4A "...A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line..."

I interpret this to mean that ALL of the ball must over the in-bounds area of the court, for it to be legally touched by a defender.
Don't read it that way. That is a "case" of what could be legal. It doesn't intend to say the entire ball must be over the line.

The defender can't reach through the line, that's it. If they hit/touch the ball without doing so, it is legal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Don't read it that way. That is a "case" of what could be legal. It doesn't intend to say the entire ball must be over the line.

The defender can't reach through the line, that's it. If they hit/touch the ball without doing so, it is legal.
Thanks for that clarification, very helpful!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 06:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
A1 holds the ball over the baseline and B1 slaps the ball out of his hand and then grabs it.

1. Legal
2. Throw in ends, and the arrow now belongs to Team B. Right?
In the smack and grab situation described here, at what point exactly would the throw in end? When B1 possesses the ball? When B1 knocks it loose? As soon as B1 is in contact with the ball and A1 isn't?

I assume it's that last option.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by shutupneff View Post
In the smack and grab situation described here, at what point exactly would the throw in end? When B1 possesses the ball? When B1 knocks it loose? As soon as B1 is in contact with the ball and A1 isn't?

I assume it's that last option.
Not covered, so use 2-3.

I'm going with "when the loose ball is next touched" (which is mostly your last option)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbounds nero21 Basketball 23 Mon Mar 07, 2011 07:43am
Inbounds boss21 Basketball 7 Fri Jan 08, 2010 01:19pm
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? BoBo Football 3 Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am
inbounds pwarburt Basketball 8 Tue Jun 06, 2000 01:37pm
inbounds kent wilson Basketball 8 Fri Apr 07, 2000 03:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1