![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
As I understand it, this is to curb delays before that. Some guys like to walk around and do all kind of stuff before stepping to the line. Russell Westbrook was a regular culprit of this. Some have even suggested this has contributed to his FT % dropping nearly 14% this season compared to last. I'm not sure how consequential it is overall but for some reason I like the way they administer it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So, if the rule is the same as NFHS, put the ball on the floor and start counting. Or, if players were taking too much time to get in place, call a DOG. Use the rules in place, don't change the official's mechanics to accommodate.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
|
|
|||
|
Perhaps you'd favor us with a dissertation, based on your boundless NBA rules expertise, on the relevant rules at play in this situation. Please distinguish from 1st throw and 2nd throw, if you please.
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thanks but no thanks. I'll take the way the NBA chose to deal with it over having the L walk up the FT line and place the ball down.....and then have the C initiate a count. Last edited by VaTerp; Thu Jan 11, 2018 at 02:19pm. |
|
|||
|
Well if you wanted to put the ball on the floor and start a count, having the C administer the free throw makes it easier to do that too.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
That is news to me. Citation?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
After a TO, ROP is used for both.
Not after a TO, if A1 isn't at the spot for a throw-in, put the ball on the floor. If A1 is not available for a FT, it's a T. (And, yes, ther's plenty of game management to do before we get to either of those results, of course) |
|
|||
|
First off, I did look, and don't deny that I'm incorrect. Rules clearly state that you do use ROP after a timeout or intermission. Now all that said, why? Can you (or anyone else) help clarify this for me? Why place the ball on the ground and begin the count? And the reason I ask is because the way I read and interpret the rules, the free thrower is not allowed to be outside of the semicircle until after the release (9-1-3-e), so the moment you place the ball on the floor (at the thrower's disposal), then they are simultaneously violating, and as this is an offensive violation, the ball should immediately become dead. I don't see a provision in the rules that allows the shooter to enter the semicircle and attempt the shot. What am I missing?
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Admin Technical & Free Throw??? | tophat67 | Basketball | 5 | Mon Feb 06, 2012 04:32pm |
| Free Throw Admin | The_Rookie | Basketball | 22 | Sun Jan 09, 2011 08:54pm |
| Free throw admin screw up........ | dsimp8 | Basketball | 39 | Tue Nov 27, 2007 01:44pm |
| free throw admin... | bdub712 | Basketball | 21 | Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:18am |
| Technical Free Throw Admin | WAZebra | Basketball | 9 | Fri Jan 23, 2004 11:34am |