The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 09:26am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
I see what ballgame99 sees... a defender with LGP backpeddling, and never moving forward into the dribbler's path.

Could you guys that said "yes" explain what you saw?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Not a foul. What did the defender do wrong? He had LGP, he was moving back, he maintained his vertical space, and all contact was initiated by the offense. No way I have a foul on the defense. If I did call it and saw the tape I would accept that I made an incorrect call.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
For NCAAM folks...

Is this a primary or secondary defender? I know the rule says that in an outnumbering fastbreak that all defenders are "initially" secondary; but when do primary defenders begin to exist, so to speak, on a fastbreak?

Not sure if that has anything to do with this play, but just curious.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
For NCAAM folks...

Is this a primary or secondary defender? I know the rule says that in an outnumbering fastbreak that all defenders are "initially" secondary; but when do primary defenders begin to exist, so to speak, on a fastbreak?

Not sure if that has anything to do with this play, but just curious.
You are a primary defender once you establish LGP. Which on an outnumbered fastbreak cannot be done in the RA. This defender for all intensive purposes is a primary defender.

However even if he were secondary the RA restriction does not apply if the defender maintains verticality and jumps to make a play to defend the shot. They MUST be airborne and vertical for the RA restriction to not apply to them.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
You are a primary defender once you establish LGP. Which on an outnumbered fastbreak cannot be done in the RA. This defender for all intensive purposes is a primary defender.

However even if he were secondary the RA restriction does not apply if the defender maintains verticality and jumps to make a play to defend the shot. They MUST be airborne and vertical for the RA restriction to not apply to them.
So if this player was knocked down in the RA rather than blocking the shot, it would be a PC foul, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
So if this player was knocked down in the RA rather than blocking the shot, it would be a PC foul, correct?
I'd have to look again but i thought it looked like a 2 on 2 break. There are players behind but 2 on 2 essentially to me. Not outnumbering fast break. So the player who fouled, is guarding the player with the ball initially. If he had set up in the RA and taken a charge regular block charge rules apply. RA isn't factor. he is a primary defender.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 05:30pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I'd have to look again but i thought it looked like a 2 on 2 break. There are players behind but 2 on 2 essentially to me. Not outnumbering fast break. So the player who fouled, is guarding the player with the ball initially. If he had set up in the RA and taken a charge regular block charge rules apply. RA isn't factor. he is a primary defender.
There are only two defenders back, they are outnumbers. If all the other players just watched, maybe you have a point there. But not being outnumbered from my understanding is when all 5 defenders are back. Then each defender has a man potentially. This still fits the rule. But again the rule only applies when a player is on the floor. When the player jumps up in the air, they are treated like any other place on the floor.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
So if this player was knocked down in the RA rather than blocking the shot, it would be a PC foul, correct?
If a player jumps and maintains verticality then the RA restriction does not apply and a player control foul can be called.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
In outnumbering fast break situations, say a 2 on 1 or even a 3 on 2, all defenders are considered secondary. They cannot try to take charge etc in the RA. When the fast break is over, say they pull the ball out, or shoot it other rules kick back in. After a rebound there are NO secondary defenders IF the rebounder makes an immediate move the the basket. Everybody is primary so the RA restriction isn't relevant.
This is incorrect as all players are initially secondary, they can become primary and can take a charge anywhere. They cannot become primary within the RA. There is a case play that illustrates this, I just don't have my book on me. The example is 3 on 2 break where the ball handler takes the ball all the way and one of the 2 defenders committing to the ball handler above the 3 point arc (although where doesn't matter as long as its not RA). That defender is the primary and even if the contact initiates within the RA as long as LGP was maintained its a PC foul.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
If a player jumps and maintains verticality then the RA restriction does not apply and a player control foul can be called.
Yes, but my question was addressing this player in the video. He's a primary defender who can back into the RA and take a charge, right?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 05:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
This is incorrect as all players are initially secondary, they can become primary and can take a charge anywhere. They cannot become primary within the RA. There is a case play that illustrates this, I just don't have my book on me. The example is 3 on 2 break where the ball handler takes the ball all the way and one of the 2 defenders committing to the ball handler above the 3 point arc (although where doesn't matter as long as its not RA). That defender is the primary and even if the contact initiates within the RA as long as LGP was maintained its a PC foul.
Correct. I also think there was a clarification sent out specifically addressing this earlier in the season.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
For NCAAM folks...

Is this a primary or secondary defender? I know the rule says that in an outnumbering fastbreak that all defenders are "initially" secondary; but when do primary defenders begin to exist, so to speak, on a fastbreak?

Not sure if that has anything to do with this play, but just curious.
Some of this you know but i think it helps to see it all...

Secondary defenders are players who come to help after another defender, primary, is beaten. A player coming to double the low post is also considered a secondary defender.

Secondary defenders cannot set up in the RA to attempt TO TAKE a charge or a "push" foul. They can jump to try to block a shot or pass. If they are in the RA and try to take a charge etc it is an automatic block.

In outnumbering fast break situations, say a 2 on 1 or even a 3 on 2, all defenders are considered secondary. They cannot try to take charge etc in the RA. When the fast break is over, say they pull the ball out, or shoot it other rules kick back in. After a rebound there are NO secondary defenders IF the rebounder makes an immediate move the the basket. Everybody is primary so the RA restriction isn't relevant.

If the ball is pulled out we go back to regular rules. a primary defender is guarding a player and a secondary player is one who comes to help after primary beaten. I havnt seen interps on arbiter etc but this is how i interp it.

If the fast break is 2 on 2 then the defender guarding the ball is primary. if offense comes at him and he sets up in RA and takes charge he is ok. He is primary. it was not an outnumbering break. If defender beats him and the remaining defender slides over, he is a secondary defender and RA rules apply.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I see what ballgame99 sees... a defender with LGP backpeddling, and never moving forward into the dribbler's path.

Could you guys that said "yes" explain what you saw?
Jumped sideways across an airborne shooter's path where the contact occurred.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 11:39am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Jumped sideways across an airborne shooter's path where the contact occurred.
That's what I see.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
This is a GREAT play to discuss in terms of positioning and play calling.

Since the introduction of the RA, I have had trouble with this play (as the new L and C) because I will look at the defender's location (feet). By the time the offensive player starts his shooting motion, I'm more likely to catch the last 1/3 of his shot.

In this case, I could understand why the L might have missed the initial contact by Tx-4's right arm on the Mi-10's shooting right arm.


Tx-4 started vertical and was retreating, however I feel his right arm moved out of his vertical plane and contacted Mi-10's forearm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 07, 2016, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Jumped sideways across an airborne shooter's path where the contact occurred.
So a player that established LGP cannot move sideways to maintain?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BYU @ Michigan State (Video) 2 GL Plays JRutledge Football 9 Mon Oct 10, 2016 05:43pm
Miss State @ Texas A&M Plays (Video) JRutledge Basketball 5 Thu Feb 25, 2016 02:00pm
UK @ Texas A&M Plays JRutledge Basketball 11 Mon Feb 22, 2016 09:14pm
Eastern Michigan-Michigan Backcourt Violation? (Video) TriggerMN Basketball 13 Wed Dec 10, 2014 05:15pm
Texas/Michigan St. Backcourt OKREF Basketball 1 Sun Dec 22, 2013 10:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1