The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 08, 2016, 07:51am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Outnumbered or not, you have a defender who alights in an attempt to block a shot. Therefore the RA is not in play...regardless if the defender is the primary or secondary.

BTW I have a foul...defender violates POV in both plays IMO.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 08, 2016, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Outnumbered or not, you have a defender who alights in an attempt to block a shot. Therefore the RA is not in play...regardless if the defender is the primary or secondary.

BTW I have a foul...defender violates POV in both plays IMO.
Yes, we all agree about the shot blocking aspect. I'm trying to figure out where and when do we look to decide what is "outnumbered." As I said, I don't see the videos so I'm probably wrong.

In this play because we have 2 defenders back and 2 pushing the play I'd think this was "even". If we had another Michigan player right behind them with no one else around I'd certainly think of him a the 3rd making it 3 on 2.

I see what Jeff means when he shows me the video but i consider those people trailing not really part of the fast break. They may be part of some secondary break but i see this as 2 on 2. Anyway, i need to find the videos. Thx

Last edited by BigCat; Thu Dec 08, 2016 at 08:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 08, 2016, 09:45am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,972
Based on the case book, it's any outnumbering fast break, regardless if it is defense or offense that has more players.

A.R. 101. Team A is on a 3 on 2 or a 2 on 3 fast break, and any player on Team B takes an initial guarding position (1) within the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent, or (2) outside the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent, in an attempt to draw a player control/charging foul. A2, after receiving a pass, crashes into the torso of the Team B player, and the official calls a player control/charging foul.

RULING 1: The official is incorrect. In any outnumbering fast break situation, all Team B players are initially secondary defenders. The Team B player may not establish initial legal guarding position inside the restricted area, and the illegal contact by B is a blocking foul.

2: The official is correct. Even though the Team B player is initially a secondary defender, he did not establish initial guarding position inside the restricted area. When illegal contact occurs, it shall be a player control/charging foul.
(Rule 4-35.4, 4-30 and 10-1.14)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 08, 2016, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Based on the case book, it's any outnumbering fast break, regardless if it is defense or offense that has more players.

A.R. 101. Team A is on a 3 on 2 or a 2 on 3 fast break, and any player on Team B takes an initial guarding position (1) within the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent, or (2) outside the restricted area with two feet on the floor and facing the opponent, in an attempt to draw a player control/charging foul. A2, after receiving a pass, crashes into the torso of the Team B player, and the official calls a player control/charging foul.

RULING 1: The official is incorrect. In any outnumbering fast break situation, all Team B players are initially secondary defenders. The Team B player may not establish initial legal guarding position inside the restricted area, and the illegal contact by B is a blocking foul.

2: The official is correct. Even though the Team B player is initially a secondary defender, he did not establish initial guarding position inside the restricted area. When illegal contact occurs, it shall be a player control/charging foul.
(Rule 4-35.4, 4-30 and 10-1.14)
Yeah i was aware of that play. depending on where, when and how many players you include, you can say even or odd just about any time. If we view the entire floor to make the decision it's likely odd every time…. i think i may just call everything odd and say don't set up initially in the arc.

Jeff, do you have any examples of "even" under the guidelines?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 08, 2016, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Guys the rule just says that on an uneven fastbreak defenders are INITIALLY all secondary defenders. One can become a primary defender in an uneven fastbreak when they meet the criteria. They do not remain a secondary defender UNTIL the number of players even out, they remain a secondary defender until they become a primary defender.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 08, 2016, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Guys the rule just says that on an uneven fastbreak defenders are INITIALLY all secondary defenders. One can become a primary defender in an uneven fastbreak when they meet the criteria. They do not remain a secondary defender UNTIL the number of players even out, they remain a secondary defender until they become a primary defender.
Yes, I know initially is important and i had left that out a few pages ago. Now, I was looking at what is considered an "even" fast break. In outnumbered situations all are secondary defenders, initially, and cannot establish initial LGP in the RA.

If we call it an "even" fast break then regular rules apply. in this video, lets say number 4 is back and instead of trying to block the shot he sets up to take a charge and the first place (initial) he establishes LGP is in the RA. If we call it "even" numbered fast break he is ok because he isn't a secondary defender.

If we call this "outnumbered" --block because he established LGP initially in the RA.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 08, 2016, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
If we call this "outnumbered" --block because he established LGP initially in the RA.
Irrespective of anything the RA restriction does not apply to an defender that is airborne making a play on the ball. The only time the RA is used in a case where you would have called a PC foul however the player did not meet the requirements due to being (1) secondary (2) within the RA plane at the point of contact & (3) NOT airborne.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 08, 2016, 11:47am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Yeah i was aware of that play. depending on where, when and how many players you include, you can say even or odd just about any time. If we view the entire floor to make the decision it's likely odd every time…. i think i may just call everything odd and say don't set up initially in the arc.

Jeff, do you have any examples of "even" under the guidelines?
I do not have a specific example other than if you are not on a break anymore, then all the defenders are defending someone. Again I think this was addressed in the NCAA video on some level, but I would have to find that in my library.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 08, 2016, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Outnumbered or not, you have a defender who alights in an attempt to block a shot. Therefore the RA is not in play...regardless if the defender is the primary or secondary.

BTW I have a foul...defender violates POV in both plays IMO.
Clearly a foul IMO.

Is there a 2nd video that I'm missing?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BYU @ Michigan State (Video) 2 GL Plays JRutledge Football 9 Mon Oct 10, 2016 05:43pm
Miss State @ Texas A&M Plays (Video) JRutledge Basketball 5 Thu Feb 25, 2016 02:00pm
UK @ Texas A&M Plays JRutledge Basketball 11 Mon Feb 22, 2016 09:14pm
Eastern Michigan-Michigan Backcourt Violation? (Video) TriggerMN Basketball 13 Wed Dec 10, 2014 05:15pm
Texas/Michigan St. Backcourt OKREF Basketball 1 Sun Dec 22, 2013 10:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1