The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Texas @ Michigan plays (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101918-texas-michigan-plays-video.html)

JRutledge Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:44pm

Texas @ Michigan plays (Video)
 
Is this a foul?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/S4M94ZLW1UQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

johnny d Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:23pm

yes

Camron Rust Wed Dec 07, 2016 01:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 994320)
yes

Yes to which question? The one in the post or one of the two at the beginning of the video or the one overlayed on the upper left corner of the entire video when your mouse is over the video?

I'll assume it is to the text in the post....I agree....foul.

Scooby Wed Dec 07, 2016 03:01am

I have a foul.

ballgame99 Wed Dec 07, 2016 09:18am

Play on, backpedaling defender in LGP, looks to be vertical or very close to it, and the offense creates the contact, I have nothing.

BryanV21 Wed Dec 07, 2016 09:26am

I see what ballgame99 sees... a defender with LGP backpeddling, and never moving forward into the dribbler's path.

Could you guys that said "yes" explain what you saw?

deecee Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:18am

Not a foul. What did the defender do wrong? He had LGP, he was moving back, he maintained his vertical space, and all contact was initiated by the offense. No way I have a foul on the defense. If I did call it and saw the tape I would accept that I made an incorrect call.

SC Official Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:40am

For NCAAM folks...

Is this a primary or secondary defender? I know the rule says that in an outnumbering fastbreak that all defenders are "initially" secondary; but when do primary defenders begin to exist, so to speak, on a fastbreak?

Not sure if that has anything to do with this play, but just curious.

Raymond Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:42am

Illegal jump stop

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

deecee Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 994333)
For NCAAM folks...

Is this a primary or secondary defender? I know the rule says that in an outnumbering fastbreak that all defenders are "initially" secondary; but when do primary defenders begin to exist, so to speak, on a fastbreak?

Not sure if that has anything to do with this play, but just curious.

You are a primary defender once you establish LGP. Which on an outnumbered fastbreak cannot be done in the RA. This defender for all intensive purposes is a primary defender.

However even if he were secondary the RA restriction does not apply if the defender maintains verticality and jumps to make a play to defend the shot. They MUST be airborne and vertical for the RA restriction to not apply to them.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 994331)
I see what ballgame99 sees... a defender with LGP backpeddling, and never moving forward into the dribbler's path.

Could you guys that said "yes" explain what you saw?

Jumped sideways across an airborne shooter's path where the contact occurred.

AremRed Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 994336)
Jumped sideways across an airborne shooter's path where the contact occurred.

That's what I see.

deecee Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 994336)
Jumped sideways across an airborne shooter's path where the contact occurred.

So a player that established LGP cannot move sideways to maintain?

Camron Rust Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 994338)
So a player that established LGP cannot move sideways to maintain?

Not once the shooter is airborne.

dahoopref Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:02pm

This is a GREAT play to discuss in terms of positioning and play calling.

Since the introduction of the RA, I have had trouble with this play (as the new L and C) because I will look at the defender's location (feet). By the time the offensive player starts his shooting motion, I'm more likely to catch the last 1/3 of his shot.

In this case, I could understand why the L might have missed the initial contact by Tx-4's right arm on the Mi-10's shooting right arm.
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h1...psnq5bxeet.jpg

Tx-4 started vertical and was retreating, however I feel his right arm moved out of his vertical plane and contacted Mi-10's forearm.
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h1...psiuexcvwk.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1