![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
That's not what the OP meant. He was asking about a correctable error. If officials know and recognize there's another FT they would have blown whistle when B started dribbling. Had they recognized it they wouldn't have allowed him to dribble all the way down the court and shoot. And.. if I blew my whistle after a FT and a kid continued on down the floor and didn't stop there would certainly be a T. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The officials recognized it immediately thereafter - there was no interim play. Because it was immediate, I maintain that the best way to handle it is to disallow B1's "goal" and proceed with A1's 2nd free throw. I can easily justify that by rule as previously cited. "Coach, A1 was awarded two free throws. By rule the ball was dead when the first was missed and you can't score a goal when the ball is dead so B1's rebound and goal doesn't count. We're proceeding with A1's 2nd free throw."
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
You have effectively taken 2-10-5 and 6 out of the Correctable error rule. Read the case play Bob cited. Here's what the conversation should be---Both coaches together--"Coaches we screwed up and allowed the ball to remain in play when A1 should have gotten another free throw. The error was discovered in time to correct it. By rule all time that ran off clock, points scored before we stopped play are not nullified. Clock stays where it is at now and B's basket counts. We will shoot A1s other FT with no one on lane and then we will put the ball in play at the point of interruption (where we stopped the game when we realized there was a problem.) That will be a throw in for team A on the end line. That's what the rules require. Again, sorry for the screw up." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
No, you really don't. The title of the OP is how do you correct the ERROR. Again, if a player was just being a goof we would be talking about technical fouls. Not correctable errors.
|
|
|||
|
I agree it's probably a CE, but the post leaves out some vital info.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the shots were announced as "2", the officials administered as 2, the other players reacted as 2, and the trial never chopped time in, it is a dead ball....and there really is no "error". You could issue a T, but I wouldn't if I thought the kid just spaced out and kept playing.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And again, if there's another FT to shoot and B takes off with the ball I will blow the whistle..soon...probably twice. If he continues all the way down the floor and shoots the ball he is getting a T. Finally, Tim is saying that if the official announces two shots and B rebounds the first FT the ball remains dead even if everyone played all the way down floor...and the officials officiated. He says the ball only becomes live when it is at A1 disposal after B basket. That just isn't true. In correctable error situations the officials allow play to continue and consumed time, points scored are not nullified. The regular dead ball live ball rule does not apply when there is an error. Last edited by BigCat; Wed Feb 17, 2016 at 03:47pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The rules are very specific on how a ball can become live - it doesn't happen by magic. If in the OP's situation the officials had not immediately recognized the issue, and after B1's goal had allowed the ball to be at A's disposal for a throw in, then the ball becomes live by rule, there would be interim play and I agree that a CE situation would exist if the error was recognized within the allowable time frame. I will also agree that there was a CE in the OP's situation, but it wasn't failing to award a merited free throw. The real CE was erroneously counting B1's score, and if A's coach was on the ball, he would challenge it as a correctable error on the basis the ball was dead after the missed first FT, and consequently B1's goal was invalid.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! Last edited by TimTaylor; Wed Feb 17, 2016 at 03:06pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Correct that error | wanja | Basketball | 6 | Thu Sep 16, 2010 01:03pm |
| Timing Error - To Correct or Not to Correct | cford | Basketball | 15 | Sat Feb 21, 2009 09:49am |
| Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
| Correct a "rules" error? | BayStateRef | Basketball | 15 | Wed Jan 03, 2007 09:52am |
| correct uncorrectable error? | lookin2improve | Basketball | 12 | Sun Jan 22, 2006 01:03pm |